Files Servers info and pics, raid setups aswell

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Cycle86, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. Cycle86

    Cycle86 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Brisneyland
    i wana see pics of your file servers and info about them, also i wana know infomation about your raid setups, as i am going to be setting up a file server with raid 5, i wana know what other peple have :cool:
     
  2. Jm3

    Jm3 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    Darwin, NT
    Bumpin this thread as I'm also keen to hear about what gear and setups everyone else has.
     
  3. h-90

    h-90 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    880
    See my Sig for my Frankenstein file server. I had some cool pictures of it but in a turn of irony the dodgey RAID failed and corrupted the pictures :)
     
  4. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,414
    Here's some images of my server rack, all set up in the garage so that the wife can't complain.

    From top to bottom:

    -Patch panel (actually not in use atm).
    -2 X Dlink 24 port managed 10/100 network hubs (master/slave).
    -Compaq Proliant 2 X P3 550 Xeon server, 1.0GB ram, 2 X 9.5 GB SCSI HDD's - DHCP server / Router (Windows Server 2003 EE)
    -Compaq Proliant 2 X P3 1000EB server, 1.5 GB ram 2 X 36 GB SCSI HDD's raid0 - Gaming server (Windows server 2003 EE).
    -Compaq Proliant P2 450 server, 384MB ram, 2 X 9.5 GB SCSI HDD's raid1 - Mail server (Windows XP Professional SP2)
    -Compucon server P3 450 256MB ram, CF Card - Monowall firewall.
    -Sola UPS.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store
     
  5. aegan

    aegan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Under The Bridge
    surely there is already a "post a photo of your rack" thread and a "tell us about your smp system" thread and a "tell us about your home server" thread
     
  6. _the_duke_

    _the_duke_ (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    Hey Dadelaide
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2007
  7. Sumomaniac

    Sumomaniac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Gunnedah NSW
    I got HP TC3100 it consists of
    2x P3 1.266ghz
    768mb Ram
    Raid 5 200gig SCSI storage

    Cheers
    Sumo
     
  8. Primüs

    Primüs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,373
    Location:
    CFS
    I use a NAS:

    http://www.unobtainable.info/wp-content/uploads/thecus-n5200_large.jpg

    (demo pic)

    has 5x500gb's in RAID-5, been totally realiable so far - has many a port on the back and supports load balancing so networking is good, its a firmware style based thing so config is easy, and its a lot more portable then a full/rack PC :)

    In my pc's i keep a System Drive (one a 160gb drive, the other a 74gb raptor) then a data drive (first one uses the same drive, the other a 250gb SATA2)

    Works well as a setup :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2007
  9. raGneG

    raGneG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Sydney
    that looks perfect, how much and where from? i bet it's out of my price range. :(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2007
  10. Primüs

    Primüs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,373
    Location:
    CFS
    There is a couple of choices:

    Thecus N5200:

    Thecus N5200BR
    Then the Thecus n5200-PRO series which is exact same but 1.5GHz CPU and 512mb RAM

    Static Ice shows them starting at the $940 range, but price depends on what model you go for, i got mine from my own personal business so i cant really say much otherwise its advert spam on OCAU haha :p But prices are about the same so yeah.
     
  11. _the_duke_

    _the_duke_ (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    Hey Dadelaide
  12. Breeny

    Breeny Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Melbourne
  13. bmik

    bmik Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    NW Sydney, NSW
    I was actually looking into these NAS servers not long ago. I have 4 computers here that are never always on at once and it shits me when I need to have 3 computers running just to get one Excel file.

    Although when comparing the price of NAS to the cheap Dell servers online I'm wondering what the advantages of NAS would be over an actual purpose-built server. Because NAS is only designed to hold data, I am leaning toward getting a proper server one day (or at least re-building an old PC and turning it into a "server") because they can actually do a bit more than just sit there and hold all my data.

    Also for anyone who has any kind of servers at their home - is trying to accomplish audio streaming off the server (and perhaps even video) worth it?
     
  14. oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,266
    Location:
    The Internet
    Shouldn't be a problem with GigE lan and any recent hard drives. Video rate isn't all that high (unless you're talking multiple HD streams at once) and audio is no problems even on much slower links.
     
  15. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,414
    I've streamed audio and video over 100Mbit Cat5e just fine.
     
  16. wilsontc

    wilsontc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Melbourne
    +1. You'll have no problems with xvid / divx
     
  17. sumguy55

    sumguy55 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    mckinnon.mel.vic:3204
    This is my file server
    p3 866
    256mb ram
    1x20gb ide hard drive (os)
    2x40gb ide hard drives (storage)
    running XP

    [​IMG]

    will be making a custom 5.25 rack soon to put those hot swapable hard drive bays.
     
  18. h-90

    h-90 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    880
    My Dodgey File Server:
    http://www.h-90.net/comp-2.JPG

    2.4Ghz P4
    2Gb RAM
    1gb Intel Server Card
    2x 400W Power Supplies
    5x 320Gb in RAID 5
    2x 120Gb in RAID 1
    1x 160Gb as backup
    1x 40Gb as Boot
    1x 80Gb as Downloads
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2007
  19. TMM

    TMM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,487
    720p encoded with any decent compression (DivX, x264) streams just fine over 100mbit

    My humble file/web/games/torrent server:
    Athlon64 X2 3800+
    1GB Corsair Value Select
    40GB Seagate Pata, 320GB Seagate Sata, 400GB Samsung Sata
    Xubuntu Linux 7.10

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2008
  20. _the_duke_

    _the_duke_ (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    Hey Dadelaide
    What are the advantages (disregarding cost) of using Linux rather than Windows for a basic file server/torrent downloading box?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: