Fileserver + Seedbox.. what do I need?

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by MdMa, Nov 18, 2010.

1. MdMa

MdMa Member

So, I am sick of having my PC on 24/7 for torrents, and sick of having to transfer files to various PCs & HTPC's around the house.

I want to be able to add drives as I need them (Dynamic Growth?)
    Leave it on 24/7 for torrents (FreeNAS has the Transmission client?)
    Have some safety - what if a drive fails? (If I was to do some sort of raid, which should I do, bearing in mind speed is not a primary factor)

What is the impact if a file is being accessed by two different sources, ie. same movie being watched by two different HTPC's?

Should I buy a ready to go NAS or build one myself? (I have no problem building PC's)

Obviously I am a big noob when it comes to this; the only experience I have with RAID was setting up a RAID 0 with Windows XP many years ago for a friend. My only Linux experience was setting up Ubuntu on my HTPC with XBMC, which was only accomplished with a tutorial.

2. oh_noes

oh_noes Member

Sounds like all you need a a cheap Atom build. Cheapest case, 4 SATA ports, FreeNAS, RAID5 over 4 disks and install transmission-daemon on it.

3. Vampire

Vampire Member

4 SATA ports doesnt really leave much room for dynamic growth :p Go a motherboard with 8 ports I'd say, they're cheap.

4. OP
    OP
    MdMa

MdMa Member

What would happen if I only had 4 HDD/SATA ports and wanted to upgrade one of the HDD's in the RAID5 Array, lets say it failed or it was a 1.5TB and I wanted to exchange it with a 2TB...

Would I loose all the data?

5. miicah

miicah Member

Yes you would definitly loose all your data, you really need to keep data contained as data on the loose can be very dangerous.

6. Primüs

Primüs Member

In a raid 5 array, the hard drives only use as big as your smallest drive, so 1x 500, 2x 1tb, 1x2tb would be 4x 500gb drives (minus one for parity) in the 'array'.