1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Firefox User's club

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Saiyan_Overlord, Jan 15, 2006.

  1. Saiyan_Overlord

    Saiyan_Overlord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,008
    Location:
    Sydney 2074
    Well... Join if you want :leet:.
     
  2. Deanodriver

    Deanodriver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,430
    Location:
    Melbourne
    meh, why not? :)
     
  3. Daveo

    Daveo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,682
    Location:
    Sydney
    Does it matter if we still use IE a bit :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2006
  4. OP
    OP
    Saiyan_Overlord

    Saiyan_Overlord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,008
    Location:
    Sydney 2074
    Nah that's cool. I have to use ie myself now and then, but I always use the firefox extension ie tab when i need to use ie :D.
     
  5. Duncan

    Duncan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,462
    Location:
    Sydney
    zactly. i'm in.
     
  6. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    use the big 3, frequently.

    so i'm in.

    DFI Club
    Coolermaster Club
    Metal Club
    and now Firefox Club
    lots of clubs..
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Saiyan_Overlord

    Saiyan_Overlord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,008
    Location:
    Sydney 2074
    aren't u gonna put it in ur sig :(. Where is the <3.
     
  8. nexx

    nexx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,363
    Location:
    Brisbane
    First used it back in 2003 when it was in beta 0.6. After a few mins of using it...I've never looked back :)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Saiyan_Overlord

    Saiyan_Overlord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,008
    Location:
    Sydney 2074
  10. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    ^ what theme is that?
     
  11. mkern

    mkern Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Tasmania
    so what is the Firefox Club? any point in joining? cause im already a member of Spreadfirefox so i dont see any point in this club yet.

    but hell, ill join it
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Saiyan_Overlord

    Saiyan_Overlord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,008
    Location:
    Sydney 2074
    Netscape- Winscape (firefox theme).
     
  13. unix

    unix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,890
    Location:
    Perth WA
    I think we have way to many clubs! Then soon you will have IE Club, Opera Club, Lynx Club..etc :D
     
  14. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    thanks :)
     
  15. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,882
    Location:
    Sydney
    Do you folks get issues in regards to memory consumption? My sister is using Firefox 1.0.7 on Win2k, and if she uses it for prolong periods with something like 10 to 15 tabbed windows, memory consumption skyrockets! Its like 326MB of RAM used!

    I'm using 1.5 on Linux here, btw. :)
     
  16. MudBlood

    MudBlood Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,212
    Location:
    Murray Bridge, SA
    FireFox 1.5 on all my machines all 7 of em
    Count me in



    Mud.
     
  17. SpaceJunk

    SpaceJunk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Echuca Australia
    long time user..............I'm in too :thumbup:
     
  18. Mystery Man

    Mystery Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,414
    Location:
    Sydney

    Dont open up so many tabs. I got firefox here now with 15 tabs open to test, its using 198 mb alone for its self. If i use it more it may increase.

    But now with no extra tabs only 30 mb is being used by the prog. Had to close it & reopen it for the meg usage by the prog to drop.
     
  19. mkern

    mkern Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Tasmania
    i have 2tabs open atm, and its using 34mb RAM. I often have about 10-15tabs, and dont notice a problem...
     
  20. Mystery Man

    Mystery Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,414
    Location:
    Sydney
    With firefox i find that with one browser open without creating tabs and you keep on going to different sites i find that the memory usage keeps on going up. So i guess it keeps the webpages info in cache or something until you close it. May be theres a setting that can stop that?

    I just tested that. I opened it up it was 24 mb mem used then i went to about 8 different pages with same browser without extra tabs and it rose to 38 mb.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: