Fit-PC 2 Discussion

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by Blinky, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. toe2toe

    toe2toe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Sydney
    Sounds good. I was originally going to get a 320GB, but then found that I can get this WD 500GB drive from umart for not much more.
     
  2. toe2toe

    toe2toe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Sydney
    Well I think they overestimated the 4 week lead time, I got an email with my tracking number last night. It's still in Israel now but on it's way already after ~10 days. :cool:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Damn that was quicker than mine, I had the full two week lead time, we must be part of the same batch run.
    UPS is pretty quick too. It goes:
    HAIFA, IL
    LOD, IL
    KOELN (COLOGNE), DE
    PHILADELPHIA, PA, US
    LOUISVILLE, KY, US
    HONOLULU, HI, US
    ASCOT VALE, VIC, AU
    all in three days!

    Mines due on the door step Thursday the 9th.
    Sad isn't it, three days around the world and another five days from Vic to Tassie - south of Hobart.... If they ever drop the nuclear bomb, we'll have time to have a "cup of tea and a look around" before it gets to TAS. :tongue:
     
  4. SaTaN

    SaTaN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,785
    Location:
    Caulfield-ish
    thats the bloody long way of doing it! why the heck don't they go through asia?! damn wierdos :p
     
  5. toe2toe

    toe2toe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Sydney
    Cool, thanks for the info.. mine is in Germany at the moment. :)
    Hopefully it shouldn't take 5 days to get from Vic to Sydney, or maybe mine will go straight to Sydney, who knows.

    I picked up my hard drive today too, the WD 500GB - WD500BEVT.

    Which OS and version are you planning to install on it?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    I've got one of those WD 500 and a WD 500 passport drive to run LVM over - close to 1TB for 5 watts on read/write that's not bad.

    I'm a boring Ubuntu whore. I'll wack Windows on it for some performance numbers, testing when it first turns up. See if it will run Win7...
    Then a run through with the latest daily build of Karmic desktop, to see what works and what doesn't. After mucking about though, it will be Ubuntu server 9.04 - set it up, reboot it and forget about it. :D

    A mate of mine has sent me an up-to-date copy of his (Internode's) Ubuntu repository, so I'll have a personal Ubuntu mirror again sitting on the LAN - so spoilt!
     
  7. toe2toe

    toe2toe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Sydney
    Fair enough.. I'm running ubuntu at home, and on both the work desktop and laptop so I guess I'm an ubuntu whore as well. Let me know if you have any troubles installing it or special tweaks that need to be done.

    Mine looks like it is taking a different route to yours, it left Germany from Frankfurt tonight. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2009
  8. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  9. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
  10. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Whoops the red has got the better of Blinky,
    Regards
    Blinky's wife
    night-night
     
  11. slobber

    slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,207
    Location:
    Mandurah!
    Damn pornographer :tongue:
     
  12. gr8bob

    gr8bob Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    LOL. Funniest thread ever.

    Looking forward for the actual review when Blinky's sober.
     
  13. toe2toe

    toe2toe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Sydney
    Almost.. mine went straight from Frankfurt, Germany to Sydney and is scheduled for delivery tomorrow. :)

    Nice pics, be sure to tell us some more about it tomorrow!
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD


    • Dinner - None
    • Red Wine - 2 Bottles
    • Drinking Time - 2 Hrs
    The look on your face in the morning when you realise you have posted in the forums drunk and your wife had to sign off for you... - Priceless. :(

    I've gone back and cleaned up a couple of posts - hope you don't mind.

    Let's get in to it then.
    First impressions are good, it's a nice strong case with the top cover used as the only heat sink. Heat wise, it gets warm on top but it's not going to keep my coffee cup warm, after all it's only having to dissipate an average of 10 watts. The power pack comes with the overseas lead, but we knew that. I just grabbed an old Australian computer power lead out of the cupboard and plugged that into the power-brick. The lead from the power-brick to the Fit-PC2 is a good length @ 1.2 meters.

    While we are on the subject of leads / cables; A HDMI to DVI cable is included, but adapter cables for the front mini USB ports are not. I was informed that they were included and will have to check with the supplier.
    Edit: After checking it seems they are not included. They will be offered as an extra soon. However I have just bought two - (one for Toe2Toe, just in case) off Ebay for $7.50 delivered.

    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!


    The included manual is thin and cheap looking, but it does cover enough information. Compu Labs the makers of the Fit-PC range, do seem to like the KISS principle. We see it in their packaging, docs, designs / system layouts and support responses. Non commercial support is done solely through their forums at: http://www.fit-pc2.com/forum

    The Fit-PC2 uses a classic Phoenix BIOS menu - very simple and sparse. Use F2 to enter, but be ready as it boots really quick!
    In BIOS I quickly changed Large disk access mode: to Other (not DOS)
    32 bit I/O: to Enabled
    and it seems Ultra DMA mode 5 is the maximum setting.
    Advanced menu; Installed OS: Other (not Win XP) and Quick boot mode selected.
    Intel menu; Video Intel IGD: Graphic Memory Aperture Size: 128mb or 256mb are your choices. While in the Intel menu, I also disabled the SD socket - SDIO. It's a mini SD reader (not micro or normal SD) and not bootable as far as I know. It was included because it cost nearly nothing for them to bring it off the board, despite it being an unpopular format.
    Boot: Boot order; You have a choice of 8 slots, yep 8! God only knows why. I selected my LG branded USB stick with Ubuntu Jaunty on it. F10 to save settings as normal and away we go.

    The unit has 12 months warranty and is linked to the Fit-PC2 and not the current owner, which is how it should be. RTB postage is at your cost; either USA or Israel, they pay for return postage as per normal.

    I was going to open it up but... maybe another day. What's it look like inside? This guy opened his earlier version, but they will be much the same.
    So the images aren't lost until I can replace them, I'll stick some in here.


    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!


    Second coffee time!
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2009
  15. SaTaN

    SaTaN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,785
    Location:
    Caulfield-ish
    we bloody well do mind! :D

    looking forward to hear how it goes
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    A quick couple of pics from the Windows XP Pro install below. I don't do Windows these days, so if you guys could post some links to testing apps you would like to see, that will help.
    I popped the first DVD I could find in to the drive and Windows wouldn't play it. So I downloaded VLC media player and used that. It worked, the only problem it was "Monsters Inc" - typical. So I went back and got "Gladiator" and much to my delight it worked full screen too, but with a kicker. It was only using high 20's to 30% CPU, fast forward, skip sections, sweet as and skip a beat. That inbuilt decoding works nice so far :)
    These pics will have to tide you lot over until I write some proper 'words' later.

    HD Tach 8mb Zones


    Click to view full size!


    HD Tach 30mb Zones


    Click to view full size!


    I tried to pick some simular platforms, but the choice isn't perfect in Sandra.


    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!


    Temps during the Windows run were good, not exceeding 42*c with a normal temp shown below.
    Like my super high tech temp gun. LoL

    Click to view full size!
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  17. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Did ya get it, did ya did ya ? lol

    I'm downloading Ubuntu-for-Fit-PC2 now to give that a try.
    http://fit-pc2.com/download/ubuntu/releases/

    I'm sorry to say that the default Jaunty + GUI is painful without the correct video drivers. The Ralink 3090 wireless N NIC has no inbuilt support, but is at least found.
    lspci tells me that there is a:
    Realtek RTL 8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit controller
    Ralink Device 3090

    A quick timing run of hdparm showed: UDMA Mode 5, 52MB/s cached reads from the 320GB Fujitsu, 63MB/s from the new WD 500 Scorpio blue and 22mb/s from the USB WD500 passport. A the figures look about right considering is runs through a SATA to PATA convertor on the motherboard.

    My AC power meter shows power draw spikes up to 17 watts - power brick only does 18 watts, but I normally seeing 9 to 12 watts with USB things plugged in everywhere. I'm really happy with that! :)

    The Windows XP experience was just great! It performed really well, certainly good enough to be my daily driver even though it was not bought for that purpose. The wireless support in XP was as per normal for Ralink - spot-on. AP mode worked without a hitch and signal strength couldn't be better.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Not much news on the testing front.
    The latest Karmic build ( 11-july-2009) ATM, kernel 2.6.31-2-generic SMP i686.
    The 2D video refreshing has improved over Jaunty and the network hardware is a little better defined by the kernel. Maybe that shows some hope on that front, so you don't haave to roll your own driver for the wireless.

    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
    03:00.0 Network controller: RaLink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe

    Must be time for a proper install of server.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Fix the reboot bug in Ubuntu.

    Fix the reboot bug with Fit-PC2 in Ubuntu without building a custom kernel.
    Code:
    $ sudo vim /boot/grub/menu.lst
    and add the reboot=b option, as in the example below.
    Then do a normal shut down.
    Code:
    $ sudo shutdown -h now 
    Start manually with the power button for the last time and when she's back up try out your little hack with;
    Code:
    $ sudo reboot
    Down & up she goes like a ... well a plastic bottle in the ocean... :D

    title Ubuntu 9.04, kernel 2.6.28-13-server
    uuid 09de8bd9-a71c-4abb-8755-91d220ad5020
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.28-13-server root=UUID=09de8bd9-a71c-4abb-8755-91d220ad5020 ro quiet splash reboot=b
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.28-13-server
     
  20. toe2toe

    toe2toe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Sydney
    You'd have to change this every time there's a kernel upgrade though right?

    I finally got my fit pc today, too busy playing with it now though. I'll post something more substantial later. :)
     

Share This Page