1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Foxconn P35A Review (56k Warning) Now at 510FSB, DDR1280

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by skootyloops, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Foxconn P35A - Box and Motherboard Shots

    Ok, got my new Foxconn P35A today. Learnt a very valuable lesson in backing up files on my pc incases of viruses. But doesn't matter because I have the board here :)

    Anyway here are the pictures, camera ran out of battery before I could take shots of the cables and such. However I can say that the P35A may have SLi support, the SLi bridge is a dead give away. Also says it on the spec sheet I have been given. If its true then thats very impressive and already earns a big :thumbup: to Foxconn.

    Anyway pictures

    Front of Box

    [​IMG]

    Back of Box

    [​IMG]

    Non Flash Shot of Motherboard

    [​IMG]

    Flash Shot

    [​IMG]

    CPU Area (Lots of room)

    [​IMG]

    PCI/PCI-e Slots - Very Nice.... even the budget board pulls out 2x PCI-e 16x Slots

    [​IMG]

    SATA/USB

    [​IMG]

    Anyway as the camera charges, I will get it setup and right into some FSB clocking.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2007
  2. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Foxconn P35A Features

    Yes I have a sheet of features this board posses which are selling points :p I actually found this interesting, so you may as well.

    Foxconn P35A supports ATI's Crossfire and Nvidia's Multi Graphics card technology.

    The P35A uses the Intel P35 Northbridge and is paired with the ICH9 southbridge which supports NCQ command system. IDE support is given with the JMB 361 chipset, it also provides an e-sata port.

    P35A uses solid capacitors to improve system stability and extend the lifecycle of the board.

    The front connector pannel is colour coded, so you can easily figure out which connector goes where.

    This board has a power and reset switch :) No need for a button ripped out of a case when you have it on a bench. I've already found this useful.

    Huge clearence around the cpu socket which is great for mounting those huge coolers, my scythe infinity has no trouble fitting in.


    Whats In The Box?

    2x SATA Cables
    2x Molex to SATA Power Cables
    1x Backplate
    1x IDE Cable
    1x Floppy Cable (good old floppy :lol: )
    1x USB Bracket (support for four usb devices on that)
    1x Quick Installation Guide
    1x Foxconn User's Manual
    And lucky last and my favourite inclusion
    1x SLi Bridge

    Yes you heard right, this board comes with its very own SLi bridge :D

    (will add more to this post eventually)
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2007
  3. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Foxconn P35A Test Setup + Results

    Well since I got the camera back up, I took some pictures of the setup in action.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    System Consists of the following

    CPU: E6300 L627A
    RAM: 256MB D9GKW
    VGA: MSI 6200TC
    Motherboard: Obviously the Foxconn P35A
    PSU: Silverstone ST60F
    Cooling: Scythe Infinity w/ Stock fan
    40mm Fan (northbridge)
    AMD SKT 754 Stock Fan (memory)


    Best Results So Far

    Will add more here
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2007
  4. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Foxconn P35A BIOS Shots

    Front Page - Side 1
    [​IMG]

    Front Page Side 2
    [​IMG]

    Standard BIOS - System Overview
    [​IMG]

    FOX Central Control Unit
    [​IMG]

    Fox Intellegent Steppings Menu (Pre-Overclocked Settings)
    [​IMG]

    Overclocking Options
    [​IMG]

    FSB:RAM Ratios (At DDR667)
    [​IMG]

    Current RAM Speed Options (DDR1066 will be there soon)
    [​IMG]

    FSB:RAM Ratios (At DDR800)
    [​IMG]

    CAS Latency Options 3-6
    [​IMG]

    RAS - CAS Delay
    [​IMG]

    RAS Precharge
    [​IMG]

    RAS Activate to Prec
    [​IMG]

    More in next post :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2007
  5. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Foxconn P35A BIOS Shots - Continued

    Voltage Options
    [​IMG]

    CPU Voltage (Yes thats how its done)
    [​IMG]

    Default Ram Voltage Selection
    [​IMG]

    1.13x Ram Voltage Selection
    [​IMG]

    1.28x Ram Voltage Selection
    [​IMG]

    NB Voltage Selection
    [​IMG]

    PCI-e Voltage Selection
    [​IMG]

    Advanced CPU Settings
    [​IMG]

    Hardware Health Configuration 1
    [​IMG]

    Hardware Health Configuration 2
    [​IMG]

    Ok a quick benchmark. I have a while to go before understanding the cpu voltage system. Need to get my brain back into mathematics before its completly understandable.

    However here is an untweaked SuperPI run.

    FSB: 485mhz @ 1.5368v
    CPU: 3349mhz @ 1.55v
    RAM: 485mhz @ 2.406v (1:1) 5-5-5-15 2T
    VGA: 6200TC

    [​IMG]

    And here is a comparison from my P5N-e at the same FSB/CPU clock, however highly tweaked ram
    [​IMG]

    So P35 is a decent bit faster then 650i at the same CPU clock and even the P5N-e has an advantage with much tighter timings.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2007
  6. cossy

    cossy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Sylvania Heights, Sydney
    nice board by the looks of things except for that molex right above the 1st pcie slot...looks a bit tedious if your a cable neat freak like me
     
  7. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    It's only needed for multi-gpu systems. And even then not really required :) More to 'ensure' stability for your system.
     
  8. danyell

    danyell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,872
    Location:
    Kilsyth, 3137
    as i'm a bit out of touch (taking delivery of a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P and e2160 this week, only second conroe level machine i'll have come into contact with) can someone please explain when you really need to use that molex connector for pci-e? say, for a 7900GT and above? or is there other reasons you need to provide more juice?

    dan
     
  9. cossy

    cossy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Sylvania Heights, Sydney
    even still i would put every power plug i could into my mobo and that one looks like one of those plugs that could be a pain in the ass
     
  10. danyell

    danyell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,872
    Location:
    Kilsyth, 3137
    and as i'm fluffing around typing my question, it's answered! brilliant
     
  11. cossy

    cossy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Sylvania Heights, Sydney
    nice board though

    will u be keeping or selling after the review??

    if selling pm me
     
  12. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    There was this same power connecter on my Foxconn P965 board :p I never had that plugged in and it worked fine :D

    Probably keep, depends what else comes my way :leet:
     
  13. ArcTan

    ArcTan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,694
    Location:
    Sydney
    whats the max vdimm for this board?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    According to my handy sheet from foxconn it can go between 0.0125 - 0.7875 in 63 steppings :p

    So basically the voltage option is

    12.5mvx[insert number]=[well you need the other number :p ]mv

    So I think I got 1.525v with

    12.5mv x 20 = 250mv or something along those lines :p

    Hopefully foxconn come out with a new bios and the voltages just in a drop down menu like other boards have. Would make things a lot more simple.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Got some new ram from Dinos :p And now we can see just how far this board will push ram.

    My first shot, DDR1200 5-6-6-15 2.4v

    [​IMG]

    Then I had another go with DDR1260 5-6-6-15 2.4v

    [​IMG]

    I then tried getting it to boot at DDR1280 5-6-6-15. I always got boot, however windows basically just rebooted the pc.

    The one time I did get into Windows I opened a cpu-z window, and as taking the screenshot reboot :upset:

    Also tightest timings which can be set with the foxconn board are

    3-3-3-9

    [​IMG]

    Currently in this bios ram settings are DDR667/800 with ram voltage going all the way up to 2.995v.

    Either way this board proves itself just with its ram overclocking abilities. However the P35 is good for such a thing.

    I'm hoping they release a DDR3 version of this board, as I would like to see how much futher Foxconn can push ram :D

    Anyway off again to see what I can get my next overclock settings at. :eek:
     
  16. Szemen

    Szemen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,075
    Location:
    Sydney
    How do they get SLI to work with the P35? and how come they are the only manufacturer to do so? Even with the x38 as well, as far as i have read, the Foxconn board is the only one with CF and SLI support...
    They still operate at 16x/4x right?
     
  17. Scotty_DDR

    Scotty_DDR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    The Isa
    Im not sure either how SLi works on this chipset but after my own tinkerings with a modded DFI ultra D running SLi the speed difference between 8x/8x and 8x/4x SLi was not much at all, so 16x/4x would be reasonably capable SLi too i would assume.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    It looks more like a 'multi gpu' setup.

    All I have for proof is a sheet which says

    "Support for Nvidia Multi Graphics Card Technology"

    Uploading BIOS shots now as I type this.

    Should be uploaded in 5 minutes or so :)
     
  19. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    Anyway back for some good fsb clocking.

    I was told by Foxconn that the board was tested up to 505FSB, and it was able to enter the OS.

    I haven't been able to tweak this enough to enter the OS at 505FSB, but I have gotten it 505FSB from inside windows.

    Firstly 500FSB

    [​IMG]

    Now for my 505FSB

    [​IMG]

    And I had 510FSB, however locked up near instantly. Still got the camera out and took a picture anyway. Might be able to make this stable yet :)

    [​IMG]

    BIOS shots uploaded finally. Will post them in a minute.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    And here I was thinking I had gotten everything I could out of this board.

    At 2.56v I have got DDR1280 5-6-6-15 2T :)

    [​IMG]

    I can also boot at 645mhz and 650mhz. The 645mhz made it into windows and BSOD'd as I was loading cpu-z. The 650mhz wouldn't make it into windows.

    Those last two were tried at 2.6v
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: