Foxtel pricing + other Foxtel discussion

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Stooge007, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    160,152
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Very basically it's turn it on, hold your finger down on the power button until it goes red, then blue then press the button three times quickly and it should change colour to orange. When it turns orange you know it's checking for an update.

    https://eftm.com/2019/08/the-new-fo...-users-have-forced-the-update-heres-how-64169

    Well that sucks, I watched the Bledisloe in 4K and it's incredible, you can see the beads of sweat on their foreheads.
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    160,152
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Just a headsup.....literally two minutes ago I got the following email.....interesting as I thought I already had Drama anyways. Kids I'm not fussed about.

     
  3. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,437
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Interesting. I’ve been on platinum since COVID started for $89. I think it runs out in March and so I’ll need a new deal.
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    160,152
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    When I hear things like this I really got get my a into g because I'm now paying $105 for everything plus multiroom, minus movies and kids. I can be getting more but would have to shift way from telstra to Foxtel I think.
     
  5. nico6

    nico6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,716
    Location:
    melb.vic.au
    Just "today"? I got similar a couple of weeks ago but for Kids, Docos and Multiroom.

    (I'm Foxtel direct, so that may explain the lag if you are with Telstra for Foxtel)
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    160,152
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yep, just today, obviously some lag to come through to Foxtel through Telstra. Which gives me even more motivation to ditch Telstra once and for all and go with Foxtel for Foxtel. I think it's coming soon that I deal with Foxtel direct.
     
  7. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,121
    Do it.

    You’re via HFC though, yeah?

    You should be able to wangle a no contract, free install and IQ4.

    You might have to disconnect from Telstra and go to Foxtel as a new subscriber (rather than try and transfer) - which if they want to change you to satellite may involve some downtime.

    When I did similar for my parents, it took about a week to get the dish installed, we then left it a month or two before calling to “disconnect” and getting the $89 Platinum package.
     
  8. BuD

    BuD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,557
    Location:
    brisbane
    If your on HFC it's a 100% changeover to satellite
     
  9. hsvguy

    hsvguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,548
    Location:
    The Home Of Coopers
    I can't believe people still have foxtel.
     
    Elmf, 3Toed, BuD and 3 others like this.
  10. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    160,152
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Transition should be easy. I already have a iq4 and a satellite dish so nothing there really needs to change. And I think all this infrastructure is owned by Foxtel anyways. So really it should just be a quick transition of account. I'm guessing I'd have to go through the original contract before I get to negotiate with Foxtel for price reductions.
     
  11. nico6

    nico6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,716
    Location:
    melb.vic.au
    Ahem. The Darts!
     
  12. krappo

    krappo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    Little Island
    Been paying $49 for this the last 12 months....
    Foxtel Plus
    Sports HD
    Favourites

    As it expires next week, phoned to have it extended and the best they would do is $5 off the normal price of $94 for my lot.
    I cancelled and will be disconnected on the 19th.
    We wait and see :)
     
    Stooge007 likes this.
  13. hsvguy

    hsvguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,548
    Location:
    The Home Of Coopers
    Is it on Kayo? Even though Kayo needs better app expansion (xbox/playstation).


    For $74/month, you can get Netflix, Disney, Stan, Amazon Prime and Kayo, all in HD.
     
  14. BuD

    BuD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,557
    Location:
    brisbane
    Wow kayo doesn't have the other apps yet geez. I stopped using it as they didn't have webos version nor Xbox version can't believe a year later still no progress
     
  15. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    10,230
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    I miss Foxtel, now I have to decide what to watch, before I could pick a channel and they decided for me. Come on Netflix you promised me Netflix channels months ago!
     
  16. Franc

    Franc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    5,027
    Location:
    Melbourne North Sub
    Life is really hard. You have my thoughts and prayers.
     
    GumbyNoTalent likes this.
  17. krappo

    krappo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    Little Island
    mainly watch NFL and lots of doco's so the above suggestion wont do it :) Many Thanks
     
  18. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,011
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Dunno if it's rolled out to everyone yet but my account has a "play something" button that plays something random. Not quite channels, but hey... it's there.
     
    GumbyNoTalent likes this.
  19. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    10,230
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    OH will have to look for it.
     
  20. krappo

    krappo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    Little Island
    Thinking of going fetch instead ???? :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: