1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Foxtel pricing + other Foxtel discussion

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Stooge007, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. OP
    OP
    Stooge007

    Stooge007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    11,972
    Location:
    The Shire, Sydney
    is it the top tier Netflix?

    if so, Netflix = $20, Kayo = $25, so you're paying $25 for drama
     
  2. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,256
    Location:
    South East QLD
    my x key is broken from how many times I pushed it to doubt
     
  3. pezzy

    pezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    Sydney
    new tv, and now i really need a new box. just tried on chat (i think this is my 3rd time trying to get them to upgrade my box), and the best they could do was charge me a $35 connection fee only for an iq4. it's not a lot and i could accept it, but the idea of it i can't accept out of sheer principle lol. i asked them hypothetically if my current box wasn't working, would a replacement cost me anything. after a couple of attempts to dodge the question, they said any fees would be waived for the replacement of an iq3. so this connection charge is total bs.

    i don't want to disconnect. i just want to upgrade for free to a box that has hdmi output. iq 1 2 or 3, dont care. teach me the way of negotiation please :(.

    does those component to hdmi converters work for foxtel? or is there some sort of protection in place?
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I think it's just a case of what they can do at the time. Phoning back for a new operator probably won't even help either. but I know about principle....:leet: I wanted a free new remote control when the new ones got released a couple years ago now, they would do it half price for me, no less, I said go jump you're giving it out new with iQ4's. So I've been without the new remote for last two years :p I only want it for the shortcut buttons. But I'm not paying on principle :D

    I even have two of the older remotes. When the guy came to replace my iq3 with a iq4 I said here's the old remote back and he said keep it! So fark em, not paying for it.
     
    pezzy likes this.
  5. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,256
    Location:
    South East QLD
    You really showed them... by continuing to be a customer just sans remote.
     
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Which I'm satisfied to do. Otherwise I would quit the service. Wasn't about showing them anything.
     
  7. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,256
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Was just having a bit of a giggle about the "fuck em" sentiment in your post
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Ripped straight from WP:

    New software update for the iQ4/3

    https://www.foxtel.com.au/support/software-update.html

    1.19.1.25 for iQ4
    1.19.0.25 for iQ3

    This software release includes:

     
  9. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Damn, what's with all the repeated ads recently!?? Coke, MenuLog, etc.....liike two of the exact sam ad two or even three times in a row :confused: ....Then there's this message after that says "FOXTEL We'll be right back." that goes for 10seconds. All very weird like something is broke.
     
  10. petercr

    petercr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,413
    Location:
    Northern Brisvegas (4504)
    What do Foxtel consider to be a 'new' customer? My wife has tried to get a better deal on our current plan but they don't want to play and it seems that they're now dropping their pants on EOFY deals (and throwing in a Google Nest Hub at no charge).
     
  11. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yeah I saw that, a deal better than what I'm currently on with Foxtel through Telstra. I rang up and Foxtel told me you have to be out of your last service for 30 days, not sure if this would be the same for you if you cancel and rejoin.
     
  12. KANNIS

    KANNIS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,951
    Location:
    Sydney
    Anyone else having issues with Kayo and Samsung Tv's? Mine just won't play live sport. Kayo apparently fixed it, it worked for a week and its happening again now.
    Couldn't watch the F1 live last night or replay this morning :(
     
  13. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Heads-up for Foxtel subscribers, free multiscreen until the end of August.
     
  14. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    13,797
    Location:
    Canberra
    Not sure if will help but I was having lots of buffering issues and changing DNS to 1.1.1.1 fixed.
     
  15. BMan2

    BMan2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    840
    can't see it on the website? Just call? I'm back on the full premium deal, so it's time to call again I'd say.
     
  16. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Just try it and find out. These promos come along pretty silently, I've only ever just tried them to see if they work, and they have every time.
     
  17. nico6

    nico6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    melb.vic.au
    I got an email about this yesterday afternoon
     
  18. BuD

    BuD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,712
    Location:
    brisbane
    So generous lol, sarcasm
     
    3Toed and millen like this.
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161,660
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    If you're a Prime member like myself you will soon be able to stream Prime Video through your Foxtel devices/account....

    Foxtel subscribers to get Amazon Prime Video integration later in 2021

    https://www.mediaweek.com.au/foxtel...on-prime-video-app-integration-later-in-2021/

     
  20. nico6

    nico6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    melb.vic.au

Share This Page

Advertisement: