1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Foxtel pricing + other Foxtel discussion

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Stooge007, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. OP
    OP
    Stooge007

    Stooge007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    12,072
    Location:
    The Shire, Sydney
    sweet, thanks guys :)
     
  2. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,184
    Like others, just got Platinum HD for $89/month, after being connected for only 3 months (with free install & no contract too).

    Was originally going to just downgrade by dropping Kids, Movies & Sport to make it $75/month but this will do for now.
     
  3. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle
    That was the ring and cancel deal i take it?
     
  4. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,184
    Yeah, guy said they wouldn't normally offer it because I'm only a few months in, but went and asked his manager (put me on hold whilst having another bite of lunch).

    I did this about a month ago but was at the start of my billing cycle so he kindly made notes on the account and said to ring back in a few weeks at the end of my billing month.
     
  5. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Fair enough. Getting mine connected as we speak, but on the 3 mo free deal they have going, so was planning to cancel at the end of the 3 months.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2016
  6. hello people

    hello people Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    In a bucket
    Can you just buy Fox Sports 1/2 on a month by month basis?
     
  7. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Post your Foxtel deal :)

    No


    Don't edit my posts, I didn't intrude their safe space.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  8. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,184
  9. The Brad

    The Brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5,029
    Location:
    Sydney, for now?
    My new deal is that the IQ3 box is so manifestly unreliable I'm not paying a single solitary cent for it until it works. For now I'm on a trial and I can watch Foxtel Go for free...

    Half the time it doesn't turn on, seems to demand resets every other day, randomly forgets its remote....

    Now it isn't turning on, no resets work, it has a black screen with no display and Foxtel's help is asking me to connect it to the internet and check the software version... Not funny anymore

    I've been around a while, but this is actually the most frustrating and appalling consumer product I've ever come into contact with, and if Foxtel was not the anti-competitive behemoth it was, this would have been the death of it.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Stooge007

    Stooge007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    12,072
    Location:
    The Shire, Sydney
    have you ever had the box replaced?
     
  11. The Brad

    The Brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5,029
    Location:
    Sydney, for now?
    Yep, it's a hopeless piece of crap with no meaningful support behind it. Ruthlessly outsourced to save money but barely functional, worse than 10 year old STB's.

    I am actually not going to bother any more, they can collect this one and they better not try to charge me again.

    Foxtel Go on tablet is butter smooth but on a PC it is horrid because they use Silver light, and they don't allow Chromecast so it is really quite impossible to enjoy this on my actual TV.
     
  12. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle


    It works really well on the ps4.

    But yeah the 3 was rushed in because of Netflix being released in Aus, even after 12 months it's still no good despite multiple patches.

    The 2 on the other hand works well despite the ancient UI but simple is often best
     
  13. The Brad

    The Brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5,029
    Location:
    Sydney, for now?
    Would consider using it on ps4 but they still force you to buy more than you want and no usable DVR is just a deal breaker for me.
     
  14. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle


    It works really well on the ps4.

    But yeah the 3 was rushed in because of Netflix being released in Aus, even after 12 months it's still no good despite multiple patches.

    The 2 on the other hand works well despite the ancient UI but simple is often best
     
  15. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    24,977
    Location:
    north pole
    Missus wants foxtel again for GOT.

    What package do i need again for that plus sports for RIO?
     
  16. grommet80

    grommet80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Lismore NSW

    Mandatory Essentials pack $26
    Drama pack $20
    Sports pack $25
    HD $10
     
  17. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Or ring up and get the plat HD for 89 a month
     
  18. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    24,977
    Location:
    north pole
    Rang up and asked as in opticomm network estate. Person had no bloody clue....
    Will probs just get stream thru ps for now
     
  19. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Post your Foxtel deal :)



    Just get it on sat. No difference
     
  20. The Brad

    The Brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5,029
    Location:
    Sydney, for now?
    Apart from the fact that it doesn't work when it rains hard...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: