FPGAs

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by mikeyyy, Apr 13, 2009.

1. mikeyyy

mikeyyy Member

I don't think I've seen much talk at all about FPGAs and VHDL/Verilog, so I figured I'd start a thread. :)

I'm in my final year of Computer Engineering and we've been using VHDL to build random stuff for group projects on a Digilent Nexys board (Spartan 3 FPGA). For those who don't know what an FPGA is, it is basically reconfigurable hardware. You can essentially program digital circuits onto the chip and make it do whatever you want. The FPGA also interfaces to I/O pins on the board and other things like DRAM, LEDS, 7seg display, flash memory, etc.

Click to view full size!

Last semester we built a temperatre + humidity sensor on the breadboard attachment, the board could sample sensor data at a rate of 50Hz and store the data in memory for later retrieval by downloading it to the PC. This semester we're doing motion detection, we have a PAL camera and have to output VGA to a screen. The goal is to stream the camera image along with some form of virtual object that can be manipulated by the detected motion.

I find this low level to be lots of fun, and we're only using a 100MHz clock, none of that GHz processor crap. :)

Is anyone else working with FPGAs? If you ever get the chance at uni, you should try it. Though it's pretty frustrating when things don't work, printf debugging consists of 8 LEDs and a 7seg display, but there is something rewarding about getting the board to display a bitmap from DRAM that I can't put my finger on. The best thing of all, one of these development boards is only like $100. The back of the box it comes in even brags it's cheaper than some textbooks.

2. oupimiquo

oupimiquo Member