FRS to DFSR migration

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Xpfan47, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. Xpfan47

    Xpfan47 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Hi guys,

    Im trying to migrate domain replication from FRS to DFSR when I ran the dcdiag there was new no health issues so I run the first command which is "dfsrmig /setglobalstate 1"

    Its been two days now and its in Prepared state that is due to an old domain controller which wasn't properly decommissioned few years back.

    The following Domain Controllers are not in sync with Global state ('Prepared'):


    Domain Controller (Local Migration State) - DC Type
    ==================================================

    OLDDC-01 ('Start') - Writable DC

    Migration has not yet reached a consistent state on all
    State information might be stale due to AD latency.

    What should I do from here go to next stage or find out why this old DC isn't cleaned up properly ?
     
  2. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    12,929
    Find out why old DC isn't cleaned up properly and do Metadata cleanup for it.
     
    Xpfan47 likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    Xpfan47

    Xpfan47 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Thanks for your response.

    so leave the DFRS migration at its current state and find out why the old DC isn't cleaned ?

    Or should I roll back to "State 0 (START state) "
     
  4. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    12,929
    I'm not sure if dfsrmig will pick up new metadata mid-run, so you'll probably need to roll it back, clean up the old DC, and then start it again.

    I try to make sure there are zero replication errors and ad health is good before pulling the trigger on any DC updates.
     
    Hive likes this.
  5. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,476
    Location:
    Canberra
    This.

    Replication and dcdiag should be healthy. The guide even says this. Yes, this typically means an authoritative burflags restore / and/or metadata cleanup.

    This is typically super handy - https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=30005
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Xpfan47

    Xpfan47 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    I did check and there was 0 zero replication errors.

    Here is result.

    repadmin /replsum

    Beginning data collection for replication summary, this may take awhile:
    .....


    Source DSA largest delta fails/total %% error
    DCC-DC01 27m:47s 0 / 5 0
    DCC-DC02 20m:32s 0 / 5 0


    Destination DSA largest delta fails/total %% error
    DCC-DC01 20m:32s 0 / 5 0
    DCC-DC02 27m:47s 0 / 5 0
     
  7. CordlezToaster

    CordlezToaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,062
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Do you have multiple AD sites setup?
    I had a similar issue and it turned out to be how AD was replicating across sites. It turned out that one of our WAN sites was syncing from another WAN site instead of HQ.

    Are you going from server 2003 or 2008 to 2012/2016?
     
  8. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,476
    Location:
    Canberra
    another thing to check is the FRS application log.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Xpfan47

    Xpfan47 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    No I don't both AD's are on the same site.

    Migrated from 2003 to 2008 R2 about 4 years ago but recently discovered that I"m still using FRS.

    Current envi

    DC01 2008 R2
    DC02 Server 2012

    Like to add server 2016 as a domain controller and demote server 2008 R2.

    when I was searching for 2016 prerequisites I read some where the replication level should be DFRS that's when I realized i was still on FRS
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Xpfan47

    Xpfan47 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Checked DFSR replication logs no errors.

    The DFS Replication service successfully contacted domain controller DC01.mydomain to access configuration information.
     
  11. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,476
    Location:
    Canberra
    FRS, not dfsr.
     
    Hive likes this.
  12. OP
    OP
    Xpfan47

    Xpfan47 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Hi checked my FRS logs it seems ok except on one warning.

    The File Replication Service has detected an enabled disk write cache on the drive containing the directory c:\windows\ntfrs\jet on the computer DC01. The File Replication Service might not recover when power to the drive is interrupted and critical updates are lost.

    I run the following commands and there are no errors.

    repadmin /replsum
    repadmin /showrepl

    Should go ahead issue "dfsrmig /setglobalstate 2".
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018
  13. Pic0o

    Pic0o Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    'Murica, PA (state)
    If you have the capability, I would really go for server 2012 R2 or higher for all members of your DFSR environment. There are some really huge improvements, including a means to build the file queue for replication on the master and import it to the other servers.

    Database Cloning is what I am referencing from this NerdPyle article:
    https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com...n-windows-server-2012-r2-revenge-of-the-sync/
     

Share This Page