1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

G.Skill F4-3600C16D

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Virtuoso X, Jun 24, 2020.

  1. Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    hey guys
    recently purchased these bad boys
    https://www.scorptec.com.au/product/Memory/DDR4/80885-F4-3600C16D-32GTZN/?member_pricing=true

    started researching on RAM, using the Ryzen RAM calc (didnt work exactly right for me) to make the most out of these!

    i managed 3733 (with IF @ 1867) 14-14-14-30-44 1T @ 1.46v with trfc at 312 (XMP default) rest on auto ive noticed on ryzen boards the trfc left on auto does not pickup the XMP default trfc (double check this to confirm),
    in the bios my tRFC was on auto and the default number next to it was 312, but in the OS checking the value it was 450, so best to manually change this.
    also tRC left on auto didnt behave the way i would like, generally i try to keep tRC = tRAS + tRP.

    everything else was on auto and was reported correctly by DRAM Calc, i didnt change the default values for anything else as they were all within 1-2 points of each other.

    managed to shave 6ns of latency in AIDA, ill be running a 24 hour stability test and hope this is stable.

    these kits are beastly!
    Read 59kMB/s, Write 57kMB/s, Copy 62kMB/s, latency 64ns

    anyone else have these and would like to share your findings / OC settings?
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2020
  2. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,483
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I wish I knew how to tune my RAM.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'll post some useful links shortly, it's not as hard as you'd think!
     
  4. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,483
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think most of my issue is the fact that theres about eleventy billion settings and half the time the motherboards call them different things to whats in the guides so I get nervous I'm changing wrong settings.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    from my testing the only timings worth changing are CAS, RCD, RP, RAS, RC RFC, make sure CR is 1T, other subtimings made 0 difference.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    this is a good read
    https://www.reddit.com/r/overclocking/comments/ahs5a2/demystifying_memory_overclocking_on_ryzen_oc/

    i managed to get 15-20 more fps in games and higher 1% lows @ 1440p
    id say that a considerable amount of increase just by tweaking RAM.
     
  7. OzJustin

    OzJustin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,335
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Can you shed any light on the difference between the G.Skill F4-3600C16D-32GTZN and the F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC? One has a "C" on the end and this seems to be AUD$200ish cheaper. I take it the non-C is Samsung B-die and the other Micron or Hynix? Is it really worth $200 more? 20fps improvement is significant though for just RAM timings!
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2020
  8. OP
    OP
    Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    32GTZNC is CAS 16-19-19-39
    whereas
    32GTZN is CAS 16-16-16-36
    timings make a big difference i would suspect 32GTZN is samsung b die based on its low latency.
    i ended up getting that kit actually and i managed 3733mhz @ 14-14-14-30 @1.45v (stock XMP is 1.4v on these kits)
     
  9. OzJustin

    OzJustin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,335
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Wow that is impressive. From what I’ve read of Ryzen, better RAM timings can contribute 10-20fps alone in games. Still thinking whether 5fps gain is worth $200ish more than the 3600MHz CL16 base kit though.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    did more testing, wasnt able to get it to pass memtest without errors, so ive loosened the timings to 14-16-16-32 and testing now but looks better.
     
  11. hotpants86

    hotpants86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Is your 15-20 fps increase on Ryzen transferable to Intel or is it just because Ryzen benefits more from shorter latency?
    What has your experience told you the gains are on Intel setups?

    Cheers
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    timings effect ryzen more whereas frequency effect intel more in my findings
     
  13. hotpants86

    hotpants86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Have you had any major fps increases like you had with Ryzen over on the Intel size? With frequency I mean.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Virtuoso X

    Virtuoso X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    not really, most i was able to push out of my 9900K was an extra 5-10fps, which i would say is within margin of error, given im running 3600mhz CL16-19-19, pushing 4000mhz at CL19 i found a slight increase on intel.
    On my ryzen build i kept MCLK:IF:UCLK 1:1:1 ratio across all (As recommended), with CL14-16-16-32-38, thats when i noticed the most increase.
     
  15. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    Northern VIC
  16. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,821
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    I had nothing but problems getting the 16-19-19-39 (which incidentally is a whoppping $160 less and still $20 more than I paid for it around this time last year) variant working on my X570 board at anything above 3200. GSkill blamed Gigabyte, Gigabyte claimed GSkill, yada yada, long story short wish I'd gone with another brand because because I simply could not get this working even at 3600, even with a lot of manual setting. 10 months later the best I've managed is 3200.
     
  17. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    I have always found GB BIOS twitchy.
    Have you tried one stick at a time? if one stick can hit 3600 and the other can not then the RAM is at fault but otherwise it is probably just the BIOS getting the settings wrong assuming you have a Ryzen 3000 (not IGP).
    Have you tried using Ryzen DRAM calculator?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: