G-Sync to go FreeSync

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by illdrag0n, Jan 7, 2019.

  1. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    The 15th...….patience.
     
    datfreak likes this.
  2. SpaceFrog

    SpaceFrog Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,023
    Location:
    Brunswick, Melb.
    Recently bought a Kogan Curved 27" 144hz with Freesysnc. It'd be great if it works with my 980.

    It really is a strange technology to pay a premium for. It's best for people on a budget, and people with aging video cards.
     
  3. Zenskas

    Zenskas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,793
    Location:
    Tas
    Unfortunately for you (and me with a GTX 970), NVIDIA have only committed to getting adaptive sync working on GTX 10x0 series and above. I am currently unsure if this is a hardware limitation or just that NVIDIA don't want to support their older cards at all. Most likely the latter, given that existing gsync monitors work fine on 9xx series cards. I imagine they could easily enable support for our cards too but then we'd be less inclined to upgrade to one of their newer cards...

    What you thought you'd get a cool new feature on a series of cards that NVIDIA are no longer making any money off?! Nah they gotta sting you with a catch somewhere
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019 at 3:48 PM
  4. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,253
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    This is the first good thing to come from nVidia in some time :) Will be nice to use my 34UC88 with FreeSync again.
     
  5. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Where is the driver ^&*!@%$$&^(**^%(*&)*( :tongue:
     
  6. datfreak

    datfreak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    826
    I'm not sure if these are the correct freesync ones but..


    Windows 10 - DCH : https://international.download.nvid...esktop-win10-64bit-international-dch-whql.exe
    Windows 10 - Standard : https://international.download.nvid...71-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql.exe
    Windows 7/8 - Standard : https://international.download.nvid...esktop-win8-win7-64bit-international-whql.exe

    Release Notes : https://international.download.nvid....71-win10-win8-win7-desktop-release-notes.pdf


    edit - the settings do not mention freesync at all but after enabling G-sync in Nvidia panel, my monitor lg 34um88 reports freesync is enabled..
    Using CRU I increased the 34um88 freesync range to 75hz(was 60) and testing it on UFO frame skipper it is perfect! Without freesync it would frameskip at anything over 62hz.
    I'm 1 happy customer atm
    Now more testing
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019 at 9:33 PM
    riot123 likes this.
  7. riot123

    riot123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    datfreak likes this.
  8. riot123

    riot123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    GTX1080 working on my Korean 32" 4K QNIX UHD3216R (Freesync), adjusted my FS range to 35-65 via CRU.

    If anyone want silky smooth gameplay, make sure Gsync is enabled (the new feature) and Vsync is turned on in Nvidia Control panel.

    While ingame, have Vsync turned off.

    - no flickering or visual glitches so far.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019 at 10:21 PM
  9. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,253
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Works well for me, the demo seems good.

    LG 34UC88
     
  10. Badz0r

    Badz0r Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Ive installed the drivers but I cannot find the GSYNC option?
     
  11. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,253
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I opened the control panel and there was a new option for g-sync displays. There I checked the box to enable the non certified monitor.
     
  12. Badz0r

    Badz0r Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    If anyone else has the same problem as me - you might also need to enable freesync inside your monitor's settings
     
  13. lowdog

    lowdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    After driver installation a message popped un on the screen of my AOC G2590PX saying G-Sync compatible display and G-Sync was automatically enabled :weirdo:
     
  14. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,385
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Does anyone know if there is a list of monitors that have been found to be working, and\or what the experience is like on them

    I have the LG 32UD99-W, so im hoping the experience will be good
     
  15. dzajroo

    dzajroo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    777
    don't think so, as this was only enabled yesterday with the new drivers release, but I'm assuming there will be sites like blurbusters that will have list of monitors and level of functionality very soon.
     
  16. Badz0r

    Badz0r Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Well I am having all kinds of issues, but after googling they seem to be generic gsync issues?

    My gsync compatible monitor (actually on their compatible list, the asus vg278q) works well until depending on the game I try to move anything where the game has a "mouse input". For example in call of duty blackops, the mouse disappears/reappears all the time and pauses the game for a second when I click. In fortnite, bringing up the inventory to move the mouse around - the mouse cursor does not appear and it freezes.

    Pretty much makes them unplayable so i've disabled the option. Such a shame cause the gameplay is butttterryyy smooooooth. :(
     

Share This Page