G-Sync to go FreeSync

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by illdrag0n, Jan 7, 2019.

  1. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,170
    Location:
    Canberra
    Nice, didnt know bout the frame doubling, dont ever plan on playing @ 36 or below though. Itd be cool if you could use this tech with say Ps4 plugged in to make 30fps games bit smoother looking.

    I always run G-Sync + V-Sync forced on NVCP, at first it sounded wrong but I read a Blur busters article showing its better on :) (might be same 1 u linked)
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  2. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,734
    Location:
    Adelaide
    it should be automatic..
    set g sync to on... the drivers set everything how it should be... why are we paying for something to 'just work' if it doesn't unless you know how to set it up properly...
     
  3. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,986
    I agree entirely, it should toggle Gsync on and vsync on in the global control panel automagically.
    However, it can't stop users turning on vsync in-game, so not sure how to fix that bit.
     
  4. Zenskas

    Zenskas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    Tas
    Is it advisable to toggle V-sync (or enhanced sync?) on in Radeon settings as well, when using Freesync?
     
  5. Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,307
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    Can confirm that GSync works on my AOC AGON AG241QX, which is awesome cos it meant I could sell my PG258Q and still make use of it.
    Worth noting though as I don't think these were listed as some of the GSync compatible displays.
     
    walker_2003 likes this.
  6. ol-skool

    ol-skool Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Enjoying it with Asus Rog 32" XG32VQ whatever it is :D
     
  7. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Just picked up a Samsung CF791 3440x1440 but it flickers in some games like CIV VI although all the shooters I have tried work ok and the only games experiencing flickers thus far are ones that don't really need FreeSync enabled.

    There is a list of monitors being built here
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...2Zi1su7QzPRNJY/htmlview?usp=sharing&sle=true#

    And I am wishing I had found this review that shows there is a newer model of my monitor that works better with FreSync\G-Sync the LC34J791
    https://www.eurogamer.net/articles/...esync-monitors-for-nvidia-graphics-cards-7044
     
  8. spank36

    spank36 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    brisbane
    What do you think of the monitor? Weighing up between that, the Viewsonic XG3240 and AOC AG322QC4.
     
  9. ol-skool

    ol-skool Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    ABsolutely love the monitor, played Far Cry New Dawn over the weekend, and it was butter smooth and looks amazing. Will never go back to 60Hz for gaming every again :)
     
  10. spank36

    spank36 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    brisbane
    Good to hear, I'm thinking of side grading from my Acer Predator 34XR41
     
  11. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    So... A little update from me. I purchased a Chinese Curved 27" 144hz 1440p Freesync monitor on Alibaba. In essence, it's this Kogan 27" Curved 144hz monitor, I just bought it directly from China for $120 less.
    Anyway, as it's Freesync, I wanted to see how G-Sync compatibility went. Unfortunately, out the box I had flickering mainly in BFV, a lesser extent PUBG. I then researched as what the issue might be, and discovered lots of people on Reddit said that some cheap Freesync monitors' default Freesync range is something like 45-148, therefore if your frames drop below 45, there is flicking. I modified this to 35-144 via CRU, and voila, works a treat. There's some slight flickering, but far less noticeable then before. The flickering that remains could be caused by RivaTuner displaying MSI afterburner information in game - still gotta work that out.
     
  12. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,017
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Hmm that's interesting. Sounds like LFC isn't working properly on the nvidia drivers for that monitor, it should be frame doubling below 45fps so even on a 45-144hz monitor should adapative sync down to ~23fps (1/2 of 45hz).
     
  13. fitfirst

    fitfirst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Blur busters is old news, here is something more recent.


    I never use Vsync. I make sure Vsync is turned OFF in the NVCP and OFF in game
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2019
  14. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,170
    Location:
    Canberra
    The best solution is gsync and vsync on in NVCP with a frame cap 2 or 3 fps lower then refresh rate*

    His example is on one freesync panel on 1 game, Blurbusters covered several and more importantly gsync monitors. And at most the difference between vsync on and off was like 1ms in his setup.

    Also don't be bagging Blurbusters, their know their shit.

    *Unless you playing csgo and absolutely want lowest input lag at cost of tearing/stutter.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
  15. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,734
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Looking to get this atm...
    Any issues at all? Will be paired with RTX2080 , so interested in gsync compatibility...

    wait... no speakers??
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  16. Kow

    Kow Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    4,789
    Location:
    Redlands, Bris QLD
    So many options for gaming monitors but No where to see how they actually look in RL lol :)
     
  17. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,282
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    Freesync on Nvidia works for me. I've not noticed anything unusual.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,734
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  19. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    WORKS perfectly on my bogan samsung va 100hz
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: