GA-MA790FX-DQ6 thoughts and problems

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by WarezNimph, May 17, 2008.

  1. WarezNimph

    WarezNimph Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Merimbula NSW
    hi all

    just sold my M2Nsli-deluxe and grabbed the GA-MA790FX-DQ6.

    So far all looks good except for the bios options...

    It uses the ati SB600 chipset for sata and also had GB sata ports which share the external 2 x ESAta ports located on M/B.

    Problem is whenever a ESATA hdd is connected, either machine will not go past post in bios. Once windows is loaded ,i plug in the esata drive and vista freezes until i remove the drive again.

    THe ports are setup in the bios, but not sure what else to do..

    any thoughts, as im using the external drives with USB ATM until i can sort out the esata
     
  2. Sniper

    Sniper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,686
    Location:
    Mid North SA
    the GB chipset drivers are installed, I take it.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    WarezNimph

    WarezNimph Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Merimbula NSW
    yeah drivers are installed..

    even at post, when a esata drive is connected, machine will not go past post unless i remove esata drive

    drives work fine on other pc
     
  4. BuzzPuppy

    BuzzPuppy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    SE 'Burbs, Melbourne VIC
    Version of the BIOS on the motherboard?
     
  5. Punk

    Punk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,058
    Location:
    Walking on Sunshine
    try updating your bios
     
  6. chicken-

    chicken- Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    Fortitude Valley, QLD
    My DS5 (DQ6 w/only 2xpcie16) has the same problem. To get around it, I need to connect the esata drive in these exact steps:

    1. PC off
    2. Esata drive off and unplugged
    3. Connect esata cables
    4. Connect esata drive power and turn on
    5. Turn on PC

    also if you haven't flashed a new bios as suggested, you really should... the Gigabyte 790FX boards are excellent, but they are really flaky when running early (F1-F3 or so) bios versions with the latest F5 release they are solid.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    WarezNimph

    WarezNimph Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Merimbula NSW
    running latest bios

    restored defaults as per bios upgrade
     
  8. MotoMan

    MotoMan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Vic Rural
    try plugging the drive into the esata port without the external case..

    perhpas your motherboard isnt compatible with the external boxes chipset
     
  9. stablez

    stablez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,038
    Location:
    Humidycrib
    Represent DQ6 lol. good to see some AMD dedicators. My first build was an opteron 180 and it was the 170/165 i should of bought.:leet:
     
  10. OP
    OP
    WarezNimph

    WarezNimph Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Merimbula NSW
    ok...will give i a go
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: