SOLVED Game crashes - new system

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by shiatzu_kiora, Sep 13, 2017.

  1. shiatzu_kiora

    shiatzu_kiora Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    QLD-Brisbane/Ipswich
    Hey everyone, (LONG POST INC)

    I'm posting here as somewhat of a last resort. I'm no slouch when it comes to diagnosing/reverse engineering faults, but this last lot has me completely stumped.

    Essentially my problem is related solely to gaming. I can utilise my PC for hours on end with no issues, but i'll load up a game and it'll crash within minutes, repeatedly. This seems to have progressively gotten worse. The errors are random, sometimes the game stops with the last half a second of audio repeating itself, other times the game dies and produces a crash reporter, other times it's been a BSOD (This used to be "memory management" but changed after i got my new RAM to be "critical structure corruption")

    Now there is some history with my PC. Its a new build from 1 year ago. I had issues from the get-go, and after a few months i RMA'd my motherboad.
    That didn't resolve the BSOD's i was having, so i RMA'd my RAM about 3 months ago.

    That slowed the BSOD's, but games kept crashing.
    Windows is installed on a nvme (m.2) drive and i have a partition for my games *the games that are crashing are on this drive*.

    So i figure there's an issue with the drive/partition and move my games to my mechanical HDD, and i THOUGHT it resolved it, so i formatted my windows/game drive and reloaded some games.

    No bueno. I'm crashing quicker than ever. So i delete the games off the SSD again, put them onto the HDD, still no dice, constant crashes.

    My system;
    Intel i7 6800k
    32gb corsair ram (was rma'd)
    samsung 950 nvme SSD
    WD black 3TB HDD
    2x MSI GamingX 1080's
    MSI x99A Godlike gaming carbon

    Things i've done to rectify;

    RMA'd ram
    Turned off SLI, Turned on SLI.
    Removed one 1080 completely from system - swapped in other 1080
    Updated all motherboard drivers and bios to latest
    Updated to latest graphics drivers (also used an old graphics driver after wiping the old install, no difference) - do NOT use geforce experience
    Turned off norton antivirus, turned on norton antivirus
    Formatted SSD with new windows and games partition
    EDIT: i have also kept an eye on temps. GPU's don't go above 50 and CPU is under 45 constantly

    Is there anything i can do to try and fix this issue? Is there anything i can install to check why a program is crashing???
    Any help is appreciated....

    UPDATE: SOLVED - F***ING ANTIVIRUS!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
  2. Radiactor

    Radiactor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    4879
    Any overclocks on CPU, GPU or RAM? If yes, revert to default and see if there's any change.

    But, my money is on PSU.

    Do you have a spare one/see if you can borrow one to test?

    I had a pretty much identical issue a few years ago with a new X58 build. Only difference was that sometimes I could get a few hours of gameplay in before it would occur.

    Replaced/upgraded every component apart from PSU (a Corsair HX1000) over the next year or so and the issue persisted. Finally cracked the sh*ts and bought a new PSU and problem gone.

    RMA'd the faulty PSU and got a brand new replacement so their testing must have found the fault too.
     
  3. combatant3219

    combatant3219 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Melbourne
    My bet is with PSU too. You didn't mention what model or how many watts etc but if it's the AX860i it should be enough.

    What are you doing when it's not crashing? Is the PC under any load as it would be when gaming or just pretty idle stuff like web browsing etc? Just curious because if you run some benchmarks or put it under load you might get the same result.

    Recommend trying a different PSU though.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    shiatzu_kiora

    shiatzu_kiora Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    QLD-Brisbane/Ipswich
    None

    I don't have a spare, but I can take it to the local IT store and get it tested.

    The only issue with it maybe being PSU, is that It doesn't happen to EVERY game, HOWEVER, the games that it does crash on utilise the gpu's and the others don't so much...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    shiatzu_kiora

    shiatzu_kiora Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    QLD-Brisbane/Ipswich
    Yes, it's the one in my sig, AX860i

    Just web browsing, word docs etc.
    Any specifics? Last time i ran benches it was 3dmark or something similar about 10 years ago.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    shiatzu_kiora

    shiatzu_kiora Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    QLD-Brisbane/Ipswich
    Was just thinking more about this, whilst I'm running some benchmarks, would the problem persist even though i'm only using one GPU now?
     
  7. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    id bet PSU

    i had a similiar issue, with just one game, overwatch.

    would crash in game, but perfect otherwise, ending up being my PSU

    couldnt handle 1080 ti SLI, and it was a 1000w platinum seasonic.
     
  8. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    GPUs run in two modes. 2D or 3D (obviously).

    So in 2D no issues (desktop work)

    In 3D, crashes.

    Install GPUz, then run the render test as that runs the GPUs in 3D mode and see if it crashes (most likely will)

    But yeah need to try another PSU.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    shiatzu_kiora

    shiatzu_kiora Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    QLD-Brisbane/Ipswich
    Well i think i may have found my issue, and it isn't the PSU.

    It was Norton antivirus.

    I guess when i disabled Norton earlier and was testing it, somehow i didn't disable it properly, or it doesn't "truly" disable itself.
    But I've now uninstalled it and wiped it from existence, and VOILA, games are running perfectly again. Actually, maybe it's a placebo thing, but i think they are running BETTER than ever....

    It was a legit copy of Norton too, no dodgy cracked business.

    My god what an ordeal...
     
  10. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,749
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Odd that it would be software related.

    Same thing happened to me, only LoL would crash my system. Upgrade gfx card and problem went away.
     
  11. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    norton, haha, sorry, had too laugh!

    glad you found the issue.
     
  12. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    The real problem here is that the words legit and software are been referenced with Norton Antivirus. :sick:

    I can think of two other "opposite ends of the earth" words which are highly more accurate.... :tongue:

    But I will keep this thread kid friendly....
     
  13. OP
    OP
    shiatzu_kiora

    shiatzu_kiora Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    QLD-Brisbane/Ipswich
    I understand peoples' trepidation with antivirus software, but unfortunately i purchased a 3 install package as my wife's work-from-home computer requires some antivirus on it as part of her work agreement (and there's a short list of what she can use).

    I figured it was a fairly well-known antivirus and should be fine, oh how wrong i was.
    I have spent months attempting to diagnose if it was hardware or software. So annoyed but relieved.

    Also, i'm now 99% sure the antivirus was the culprit, spent hours gaming today on my PC on the two games i was having most issues with, without any dramas.
     

Share This Page