GIGABYTE E350N-USB3, who is your daddy

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by dinos22, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    Hey guys

    I had a play with this new board today. Wanted to see if it overclocks lol. It sure does but it will get toasty particularly because you have to really jack up voltage hard to scale with Mhz, at least on this chip heheheh

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Idle and load (video encoding 5x 1080p 60fps videos into low res MP4)

    not sure if this info will be interesting to anyone but this platform at stock did this encode time in about 12 minutes while stock 655K i5 does it in 4.5 minutes and sandy bridge at 1.3minutes heh not that many would use it for such purpose. I am going to make this sucker into my new internet machine how good is it.......love it. Just have to find a newcase, something small :D

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,341
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    great stuff Dino.. good to see it can OC afterall.

    When do us mortals get our hands on them? :p
     
  3. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Stock clock is 1.6? Very nice effort! :thumbup: Does that clock up the GPU too or is it separated?
     
  4. gibbz

    gibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    what about underclocking?? say to 1ghz? :)
     
  5. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,341
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    yah stock is 1.6, so my Question is.. What's the default multi and ref clock?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    actually the bios selects 2Ghz for some reason thats what i was getting at stock but there is an option in bios to select 1.6

    i will try underclocking thats a good idea

    GPU can be clocked separately, i will try that yeah

    availablity: week11 whenever that is heheh
     
  7. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Mid-March 2011.
     
  8. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Still a little while away then. Keep playing dinos22 - whet the appetite! :D
     
  9. Fish_Munger

    Fish_Munger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Sydney
    hehe 40mm fan cooling :eek: looks freakin tiny thou whats form factor of the mobo?
     
  10. MadcatDJ

    MadcatDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    its a new mini ITX, AMDs version of the atom (intels atom that is)
     
  11. Smuffy

    Smuffy Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    The hole
    wow this >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> the crappy atoms :shock:

    EDIT: looks great for a HTPC
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  12. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
  13. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
  14. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    Agreed.

    GPU wise it's a huge upgrade, especially on the very cheap end of the market (10" netbooks, 11.6" subnotebooks and cheap as chips notebooks). My single Core Aspire One can't playback HD content.

    But spend a little bit more and a dual core Atom + ION seems to offer a very similar solution.

    And then there is mini ATX Sandy Bridge :p Especially when you read this:

    But personally if I had to build a mini ATX on a shoestring, I would just go with a Sempron 140 :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  15. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,341
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane

    ... and single threaded performance.

    The only reason Atom isn't that far behind in anands tests is Multithreaded app's + the huge benefit Hyperthreading gives to the in-order atom core.. It behaves more like a tri or quad core atom.

    Single threaded performance of Bobcat is 60 - 80 % faster than Atom, which is a huge delta. When at such (relative) low performance, things like general usage in windows ,web browsers PDF's, google maps, etc etc are all noticably affected by single threaded perf, this is what matters. Anand makes a big point of this.

    When the core OS and all aspects of browsing (not just MT of tabs in chrome for example) are mostly Multithreaded, then a core like atom will actually make more sense in these sort of devices than it does today (or has for the last 2-3 yrs)..

    by then I think bobcat will follow the same path as Bulldozer, and it'll be HT vs CMT in the ultra portable world as well as everywhere else.
     
  16. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
  17. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,341
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Around 60% with HT on I'd guess (there's no HT off, dual core result for the 510, but it'd be around ~1300)

    Shows how much idle time the execution engine has.. If they didn't implement HT on atom, it probably would have stayed a single issue core
     
  18. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,661
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    So when can we buy these?

    I saw an article that some are available in Japan
     
  19. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,341
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    The boards? I think Dino said Week 11.. Some time in march.

    the Asrock is available now in some markets. I'm trying to get one from "extended family" in Taiwan :p
     
  20. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
    True enough - something I'd consider using for a gaming PC, but a bit too high-power (IMO) for a HTPC or laptop. And price, as you mentioned, which is another advantage AMD has over the Atom + ION solution.
     

Share This Page