Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC No POST shows A6 error

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by jay-stormchaser, Nov 24, 2017.

  1. jay-stormchaser

    jay-stormchaser Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Hey guys

    Having trouble with my GA-z87x-oc where I was swaping out my c drive for another.

    Pulled out all of the other drives from the system and plugged in new one.
    System will now not post, shows black screen and throws A6 error code.

    Took out gpu, one ram stick( swapped both sticks and no change). Even took out new hdd still no post.
    Swapped out psu- no change

    Any ideas?
     
  2. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,527
    What does the A6 error mean in the manual?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    jay-stormchaser

    jay-stormchaser Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Detect and install all currently connected IDE devices.
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,309
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    So let me get this right.....putting the original hard drive back in you still get this problem?
     
  5. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,527
    sure you got all the power and connectors in right? if its throwing and IDE error sounds like something to do with the way the hard drives are set up.

    i lost two hard drives from a loose molex pin that shorted out two HDD's
     
  6. GoneFishin22

    GoneFishin22 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    0

Share This Page

Advertisement: