1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Gigabyte has VIA board with x16 PCI Express

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by stmok, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
  2. beesa888

    beesa888 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    697
    Location:
    Sydney
    havnt kept track of VIA for years but looks to be a good board for HTPC

    didnt even know what DTX was lol
     
  3. Gierke

    Gierke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Earth
    It would make a nice quiet file server with a decent raid card in it.
     
  4. oohms

    oohms Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,192
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    Ah thats a flex-ATX board (edit: no wait, its a bit deeper than flex-ATX but as wide)

    I really wish VIA would start making decent cpu's though. I have an 800mhz C7 as a download box / light game server and its slower than my MMX200 laptop.

    Copying files over 100mbit network and cpu usage goes to 100% straight away. I wouldn't even dream of using it to play movies lol (it runs them like ass)
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2007
  5. alvarez

    alvarez Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    Geelong 3218
    well its about time I say, been waiting for a VIA board with PCI-E for a media pc but I do wis it was smaller
     
  6. oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,268
    Location:
    The Internet
    Looks decent. Would be better if they made these with DVI output, rather than VGA. I don't understand why VGA has to exist at all anymore!
     
  7. Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    LOL, whats a VIA?? :lol:
     
  8. Grafton26

    Grafton26 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Grafton NSW
    Via is a company that makes chips for computers, they make cpus and chipsets as well as many other chips.
     
  9. Dr_Twist

    Dr_Twist Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    Mandurah W.A.
    Does this include Potato and Corn chips as well?
     
  10. Gierke

    Gierke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Earth
    =/

    noooooo
     
  11. L0che

    L0che Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    WA
    I cant see why vendors cant make a small board (smaller than mATX) with AM2 or socket 775 support, an x16 PCIE slot and one PCI slot.
     
  12. TMM

    TMM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,487
    Demand = almost non existant
     
  13. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Pick your poison...

    Socket AM2? Yes!
    PCI slot? Yes!
    PCI-Express? No! :(
    http://www.albatron.com.tw/English/product/mb/pro_detail.asp?rlink=Specification&no=239

    Socket 775? Yes!
    Core 2 Duo support? Yes!
    PCI-Express x16 slot? Yes!
    PCI slot? No!
    http://www.ibasetechnology.net/mi900.html
    About USD$355 or AUD$403.30
    (Not including shipping from USA to Australia!)

    Socket 775? Yes!
    Core 2 Duo support? Yes!
    Core 2 Quad support? Yes!
    PCI-Express x16 slot? No! :(
    PCI slot? Yes!
    http://www.commell.com.tw/Product/SBC/LV-676.HTM
    About USD$407.75 or AUD$463.22
    (Not including shipping from USA to Australia!)
     
  14. oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,268
    Location:
    The Internet
    Unfortunately I can't remember their name but there is a specialty IT wholesaler in Australia who have a large selection of mini-ITX format gear. At least there was a few years back when I worked in a PC store... We used them for parts when we built some thin-client type systems.

    I'm just mentioning it because if you need this type of gear it can be sourced locally. :)
     
  15. Dezza Bot

    Dezza Bot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Just to add to the VIa Vaporware, here's a board that I saw months ago, that'll probably never see the light
    Another via epia with pci-e

    also remember seeing the dual cpu epia which was also interesting, again old as the hills now, and yet never saw the light of retail.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    stmok

    stmok Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,878
    Location:
    Sydney
    Knowing how long VIA brings new things to the table, you'll see it...Eventually. By the time it arrives, something better will appear by another party! :lol:

    The dual-CPU EPIA is available, but NOT sold in Australia. Its only available in Japan, USA and Europe. Don't ask me why that is. I don't work for VIA.
     
  17. TMM

    TMM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,487
    no but you need DX9 to run the fancy glass GUI iirc. You don't need DX10 to run vista...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: