Gigabyte P35-DQ6 Review and OC'g, 495FSB with kentsfild

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mojom@n, Jun 22, 2007.

  1. mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok i have never done a Motherboard review before. Suggest some tests and benchies and i will do my best to accommodate you.

    Bench System:
    CPU: QX6700 - cooled with TuniQ tower 120
    MB: Gigabyte P35-DQ6 - with F4 bios
    RAM: G.Skill 6400 D9GCT Micron - with 80mm fan active cooling
    video card: XFX 8800 Ultra - stock cooling
    HDD: 74GB WD Raptor
    PSU: Silverstone 850w Zeus

    I will start my tests with FSB Max and Then Ram max.
    --------

    First Test
    FSB: 350 MHz
    RAM: 525MHz 4-4-4-8 2.2v

    [​IMG]

    --------

    Second Test
    FSB: 370 MHz (not bad for Quad core and FSB)
    RAM: 555MHz 4-4-4-8 2.45v

    [​IMG]

    --------

    Here is same test as above but with 1024M instead of 32M

    [​IMG]

    --------

    Kentsfield at 400 FSB


    [​IMG]

    --------

    Now this is getting interesting
    Kentsfield @ 450fsb


    [​IMG]

    --------

    Here is 495 FSB with kentsfeild

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  2. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok now for some ram results.

    2.45v 4-4-4-8 664 MHz - I will try for higher at these timings but this is max for now - sub timings untouched.

    [​IMG]

    -------
    Nest test is timmings at 5-5-5-18 2.45v
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  3. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    Reserved for CPU tests
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  4. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    Reserved for Benchmarks
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  5. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    Reserved for more tests #4 should be enough
     
  6. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    I think i might lower ram speed and start jomping up higher on the FSB tests.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mudhoney

    Mudhoney Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    is this the one with the "Crazy cool" MOSFET cooling plate on the underside of the motherboard? I had understood you need to remove this plate to attach large aftermarket CPU heatsinks. Was this the case for you? Any issues?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes it did have the crazy cool at the backside. but i removed it. So far i am not having any problems with heat. I have good active cooling so should be fine. I have heard the crazy cool at the back is just a gimick.


    Here it is Kentsfield at 400FSB

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  9. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    450fsb with a quad core :leet:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    2650
    Nice.

    Just put of interest (cause I have the same RAM :)), what voltage are you using for your RAM at those different speeds/timings?
     
  11. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Question: Whats the max overclock for your QX6700 in terms of GHz. My experience has been that I can easily get 400x9 on some boards but 360-370x10 seems to make the boards struggle. Is this the case for you, the lower multis seem to make life easier than higher ones. What bios options are there for CPU PLL, VTT, FSB and NB etc? Has gigashyte included a VDroop adjustment like Anus?
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  12. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    525mhz was at 2.2v set in bios
    555mhz was 2.45v set in bios.

    I am starting my ram testing in about 20 minutes so stay tuned.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    I have a QX6700 so i haven't found max speed on GHz yet because i have only ever air cooled it. I understand what you mean by 7x400 etc but that is a myth, I once believed that about 18 months ago too.. here is an example of 1 of my old overclocks if you have any off toppic questions just PM me please.
    http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/8881/4vp5.jpg
     
  14. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok here is my max FSB 495x7 non onto ram max

    [​IMG]
     
  15. davemelb

    davemelb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Melb
  16. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Nice clock, my DFI 965-S shat itselft if I attempted something like that :thumbup: So what about the bios options?
     
  17. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    There is no 4 core version of orthos yet.
    But there is a program that i can't remember what it is called but it is similar to prime95 and supports multi core, will do a test when i find it.. I don't really want to use super pi as that only tests 1 core and is more useful for testing to see if you system ram is semi stable.

    I can do some times but at low speeds like this with Quad core times will be really slow.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  18. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    I have had the Vcore set at 1.5v for all tests all other bios settings are at default apart from the setting i said above. Unless you mean piccs of the bios defaults.
     
  19. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Sorry, what I meant was, in bios, what are the voltages available that affect overclocking the CPU and what are the maximum values for each.

    EXample: vFSB - max: 2.25, available in 0.05 increments
     
  20. OP
    OP
    mojom@n

    mojom@n (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,343
    Location:
    Australia
    ok i will post that info in a minute








    Here is the load and idle temps for those that are interested. just remember this is very cool room used for tests.

    IDLE
    3500MHz 1.45v 438x8
    [​IMG]

    ------------------------------------------------

    LOAD
    3500MHz 1.45v 438x8
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page