Gigabyte Readies EX58-EXTREME Successor..the GA-X58A-UD7, USB 3.0 And SATA 6.0Gb/s..

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME 2 renamed to X58A-UD7

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. karlcloudy

    karlcloudy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,690
    Location:
    Launceston, Tasmania
    I think 1156 owners are in a fair bit of trouble once USB3 and SATA3 become mainstream, because I'm wondering whether it's actually possible to improve the inbuilt PCIe controller in the CPU at all to allow for USB3 and SATA3
     
  3. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
  4. CarlosTheJackal

    CarlosTheJackal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Got one the other day. So far its awesome. The main reason I got this wasnt so much for the USB3 or SATA 6Gb but because these boards have been updated for higher BCLK so no resistor mod is needed.
     
  5. Little Man

    Little Man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    3147
    Got mine today, damn the whole mobo heatsink feels pretty warm, what software works with the temp sensors?

    You reckon the extra heatsink is worth putting on?
     
  6. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,853
    Location:
    The Riff
    ive got mine on there, couldnt see why not, considering its there, why not use it?
     
  7. Little Man

    Little Man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    3147
    Just spent for ever making ubuntu and win7 run together and now i have like 5 partition even though i want 2....CBF i'll do it tomorrow along with the washing and the dishes:upset:

    EDIT: did oyu use the thermal grease that came with it? Seems pretty stupid since its in a bag and not a tube = huge messy.
     
  8. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,853
    Location:
    The Riff
    Nah, i used the Noctua NT-H1 i got with my D14. That stuff that came with it seems ugh
     
  9. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,042
    Location:
    3132
    from what i've seen of how its mounted, heatsink aint worth shit.
    watercool that shit.

    dishes aint gonna wash themselves.
    MX-3 or GTFO.
     
  10. Concept CBF

    Concept CBF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Behind you
    yeah it has not actual mounting pressure does it? so not much heat would go into the sink.
     
  11. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,042
    Location:
    3132
    more that the heatsink touches the chip, then goes to fins, which then goes to the ridiculously large heatsink.
    the fins make piss all contact, and therefore the extra heatsink is more or less useless.
    if the large heatsink made decent contact, it would probably work just swell.
     
  12. Little Man

    Little Man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    3147
    yyeeahh...need the water block. bad.
     
  13. room4more

    room4more Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Shame about the barb size.

    The block should just have some threads, so you can use 1/2" fittings (or others) if you want to.

    It's a good board though. OCs way easier than the rev 1 X58 Extreme.
     
  14. Error-prone

    Error-prone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Queensland
    Using Everest it shows my NB temps as around 50 degrees with the big over the top heatsink attached. (With the Gigabyte X58A-UD7)

    Anyone got some air cooled NB temps to compare with it? (From other motherboards?)
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  15. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,853
    Location:
    The Riff
    You can just put adapaters on the barbs cant you?
     
  16. Little Man

    Little Man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    3147
    nope. you can only do that with threads
     
  17. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,853
    Location:
    The Riff
    Well, thats shit D: I thought you could get some kind've adapter to make them bigger :(
     
  18. Little Man

    Little Man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    3147
    i doubt that little block would do much anyway, im just going to buy the full board block:thumbup:
     
  19. room4more

    room4more Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I don't think I'm going to bother with board blocks anymore.

    I had liquid cooling on my 2 previous boards and I just don't think the money and effort pay off - especially since you're compromising your CPU cooling if it's in the same loop.

    I'll get some temp numbers from mine when I get a chance. I'm running 214 Bclk with 3 way SLI at the moment. That ought to heat it up some.
     
  20. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,042
    Location:
    3132
    thing is with stock cooling these days on both motherboards and video cards, is it just doesnt cut it. the vrm's run at close to 100 degrees, chipsets as well, and stock cooling on video cards is becoming a joke, especially if you wanted to do something crazy like play a game in summer in australia.

    i dont know if i'd watercool another motherboard/graphics cards myself, due only to the cost of the blocks, but then every time i hear an air cooled graphics card spin up, i say, of course i would.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: