1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Good corporate wifi?

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Cadbury, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. Cadbury

    Cadbury Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4,782
    Location:
    Coogee, WA
    Whats the favoured vendor/solution these days for corporate wifi? specifically a mesh of access points in a corporate environment managed from a central piece of software. Cisco is good, but expensive. Juniper i've found to be hit and miss. Ubiquiti is promising but isnt quite enterprise grade yet.
     
  2. GreyWolfe01

    GreyWolfe01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,321
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ruckus is ok, but definitely get the newer Smart controllers that use direct TCP connections and not UDP. We had hella issues with the older controllers that used UDP - they required a 100ms or less ping to all devices to work.
     
  3. Gunna

    Gunna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    7,671
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I love the Unifi's. I administer South Korea, NZ and AU from a single controller here in Australia. Able to adopt AP's over layer 3 with a simple A record added to DNS.

    Band Steering between 2.4 and 5 is now available as well.
     
  4. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,429
    Location:
    Brisbane
    We put in Ubiquiti UniFi gear everywhere (5 different sites now), and love it. We'll be migrating all of our security video stuff to Ubiquiti products shortly too, and a number of our remote sites use their voice solutions quite happily.

    Hell, I even bought one of their UniFi "lite" APs for home, I'm so in love with the gear.
     
  5. QuakeDude

    QuakeDude ooooh weeee ooooh

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,484
    Location:
    Melbourne
    We're a Meraki site (we use them as branch routers/endpoint VPN devices) as well as the smaller wifi hotspots... all of which we manage through the one web based portal.

    Having said that - I've got a UniFi mesh happening at home, and I have to say, I'm pretty impressed with that. Would seriously look at that if I was to re-do a solution from the ground up.
     
  6. Beanz

    Beanz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    +1 for Ubiquiti.

    Just rolled out a site with a couple of APs throughout the office and warehouse. Working great for mobile scanners.

    The only downside I have seen so far is any changes (even minor ones) to the wireless networks, it reboots the unit automatically?

    Not great if working on a "live" AP, maintaining guest network etc.
     
  7. BLeR

    BLeR Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    444
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD
    No love for Aruba? We just went through the process and looked at Cisco (currently in use), Aruba and Juniper.

    Aruba came through with the goods in the end, much easier to administer and maintain (and cheaper, cost about $500K less than Cisco solution and no need to use Cisco Prime which wins on that alone in my books).

    We have about 600 AP's across three sites though. All administered from the one host.
     
  8. quickshot84

    quickshot84 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Melb, Vic
    Cisco or Xirrus
     
  9. Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    Why not Ubiquiti?

    What is it missing to be enterprise grade..? :confused:
     
  10. Gunna

    Gunna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    7,671
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Unifi's do have a 4 SSID limitation though.

    Overall I think they suit a good portion of medium to large corporate environments, VLAN capable, band steering, bandwidth throttling, free Controller, scalable and cost effective.

    Yes it is hard to make adjustments as you can take down an entire site when making changes but just schedule a maintenance window
     
  11. tensop

    tensop Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,517
    can the unifi gear do AAA vlan override via 802.1x?
     
  12. scips

    scips Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    489
    Location:
    Melb
    First vote for Aerohive, ridic easy to deploy, web interface seems a lot nicer than meraki (at least in my experience so far)
     
  13. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,331
    Aruba if you have the cash. You can also swing some sweet deals with Procurve switches bundled now that they've been borged by HP.
    Instant access is a system seller (distributed virtual WLC, no actual physical single point of failure, and works waaay better than cisco's v1 highly feature limited version).

    Meru/Fortinet if you want to save. Not a fan personally but it works and they are very aggressive on pricing.

    Meraki (Cisco, but not 'real' Cisco) if you want pretty graphs, idiot proof UI, easy to drive, and a licensing gun to your head (stop paying subscription, stops working. Not just can't make config changes, point blank stops passing packets)

    The only people buying full fat Cisco wireless (traditional stack, not Meraki) are the large enterprise shops who are deathly afraid of or wilfully blind to any other networking vendor, and / or who have partners who are so deep in Cisco kool-aid that they don't know how to sell or deploy any other vendors. There is no competitive advantage vs the three options I've stated above, costs more, more complicated to install and/or operate.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
  14. dualathlon

    dualathlon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    I work for a cell phone retailer, which has deployed ~ 2500 ubnt and 800 aerohive aps.

    Ubnt ap:
    _ cheapest price
    _ good for low - medium density wireless traffic
    _ simple setup
    _ free controller (Recommend <= 80 APs per controller instance. Passing that line, cpu + disk io usage goes to the roof)
    _ Roaming among APs are so-so, no Layer 3 tunnel roaming
    _ Client load balancing among APs is station based, and is not effective.

    Aerohive:
    _ price is in the mid range. (AP + license + support + controller + ... around 700 USD / ap230)
    _ Work acceptable for heavy wireless traffic environment. By heavy traffic, i mean channel utilization ~60% (80% is the maximum you can reach). I have to turn off many fancy features like application classification, DDOS prevention ... for those heavy traffic locations.
    _ simple setup
    _ Radius, vlan pooling, Layer3 roaming is excellent.
    _ client load balancing among APs is airtime based. You define busy thresholds, any of those threshold reached, new client connection is denied => client must find less busy APs.
    _ GUI allows you to deep tuning many wireless parameters: management data rates, how to do band steering, ...

    Hope that help.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
  15. bugayev

    bugayev Whammy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,093
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Interested in how you find the cameras go. Until recently, I've had to reboot some of mine (UVC and UVC-Dome) on a weekly basis or they just stop recording.
     
  16. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,732
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Seriously?
    Unless the hardware is given away for free, that qualifies it for the fookoff bin right out of the gate.
     
  17. DavidRa

    DavidRa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,062
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    And no-one ever mentions it during the presales phase either. No guesses as to why the providers love selling it though, rent seeking FTW.
     
  18. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,429
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Our guys out on remote sites use them extensively, and it was their feedback that prompted us to use them. They haven't reported any issues.
     
  19. mr_death44

    mr_death44 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Melbourne
    From what the rep was saying, there's a 6 month period to fix licensing before they'll lock you out of your own network.
     
  20. roger895

    roger895 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Hobart, TAS
    We use Ruckus, it works. SSID limitation was shit to stumble across (of which one or 2 get eaten up if you turn on mesh - and you have to wipe config and start again if you want to turn it off).

    We ended up using 1 SSID and with NPS, we pushed clients to different VLAN's based on security group membership.

    We did look at Aerohive and it ticked all the boxes, looked good, easy to use etc, but were time limited when it came to deployment, so we stuck with Ruckus.

    Ubiquiti stuff looks really good to me, a mate of mine uses it and hasn't had an issue.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: