Google Chromecast 3 (vs 2 and 1) [Now including the ULTRA]

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by MR CHILLED, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    In terms of 2.4 vs 5 I'm not too sure it makes any diff, well at least for me the results are the same. An article I read indicated not a lot of diff between the two, but I'm more than happy to be corrected!

    Once I find the links again, for the USB -> Ethernet adapter I'll post them in here, been meaning to get one myself for the Mi Box 3.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  3. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Ultra now $84 delivered from OfficeWorks.
     
  4. KosTanzA

    KosTanzA Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    I have the CC1 plugged in to the TV in my bedroom and when the baby monitor is on in the room I cant connect to chromecast. Would the new ones rectify these issues? Sorry i'm way behind on tech
     
  5. Bastard Child

    Bastard Child RIP

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,624
    Location:
    Crooklyn 3012
    I assume there's overlap on the 2.4GHz band?

    Does your Wi-Fi have 5GHz dual band? Google the product number.

    The CC2 will use 5GHz if available.
     
  6. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,256
    Location:
    Newcastle


    Yeah it would be interference on the 2.4ghz band. The 2 can do 5ghz provided your router supports it and you have reception in that room.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2017
  8. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,850
    Location:
    Sydney
    What brand & model router do you have and how many other devices do you have on the same network?

    I have 9 devices hanging off my network including two kids watching YT with my wife watching Netflix and my cc audio doesn't drop out.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Never had any of the issues as described above.
     
  10. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Location:
    Melb East
    Can chromecast be used as a second monitor per say?
    Wouldn't mind having YouTube etc running on the TV in the background whilst using the main monitor for work.... or does it only duplicate what's shown on the main screen (kinda pointless for me)
     
  11. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,256
    Location:
    Newcastle
    You can play YouTube through it etc, but no its not a second monitor

    Pretty much I’ve got 6? Units now and they are all flawless with the unifi WAPs. If it’s dropping connection it content 9/10 it’s geberally a wifi issue.

    Mine get used pretty much all the time, to the point where I’m running hundreds of gb/tb worth of content and not having any weird or funny bits with any of them.

    I’ve got 4 ultras and 2 CC1’s currently
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 21, 2017
  12. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Location:
    Melb East
    So its only mirror? Better off with Steamlink...
     
  13. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,256
    Location:
    Newcastle
    No it’s not a mirror
     
  14. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Location:
    Melb East
    So how does it work exactly? I'm not familiar with it, but then I assume you open a youtube video in your chrome browse, and cast it to the TV then? We have a TV monitor at work, we'd like to send videos from Youtube to it, whilst not displaying the current monitor screen etc, so we can still work but have music / other videos playing in the background.
     
  15. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,256
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Basically its a device with a bunch of apps on it which you 'push' data to it, via google chrome or apps built in casting functionaility. Basically turns your browser or phone/tablet into a remote. Once you have 'cast' media to the chromecast it will open up the relevant app and play from there, so it doesnt stream data (unless your using it to share webpages) from the casting device.
     
  16. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Location:
    Melb East
    OK thanks for the info, it will do what we need then it seems, might get a second hand unit :)
     
  17. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  18. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Wow, $55 on the Ultra from JB.
     
    archie likes this.
  19. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,009
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  20. Franc

    Franc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,972
    Location:
    Melbourne North Sub
    Frig just bought a full price one from google direct!
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: