1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Google Galaxy Nexus (1.2Ghz DC, 4.65" Screen, 5MP, Android 4.0 ICS)

Discussion in 'Google Android (OS & Devices)' started by barit, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. FuzzyKaos

    FuzzyKaos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,170
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Which network are you on, and which base band did you switch to?
     
  2. Carey

    Carey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I'm on Telstra. I used the one the h0sh0 recommended in bixie's 4.1 ROM: I9250XXLF1

    Currently on JellyBelly 4.1.1, seems OK but probably a little 'heavy' for my liking.
     
  3. Blah72

    Blah72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,766
    I was using my phone earlier, just writing a text and for no reason
    It suddry rebooted...wtf?

    Yeah I'm noticing this now actually don't really want to have
    To get my phone replaced
     
  4. stevefd

    stevefd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    I get a momentary burn in with Swiftkey. Hmmmm :Paranoid:
     
  5. Danske

    Danske Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18,355
    Location:
    Melgoon
    I recall seeing on the Google keynote you could use Google Play to do something similar to Shazam, anyone know if thats available for us in Aus?
     
  6. HairyMerkin

    HairyMerkin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,891
    Location:
    Melb
    If you're got jelly bean it's a widget called Sound Search
     
  7. Danske

    Danske Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18,355
    Location:
    Melgoon
    I'm running jb on both gnex and n7. Neither has this widget or app :'( wtf.
     
  8. HairyMerkin

    HairyMerkin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,891
    Location:
    Melb
    I'm running JB on my Xoom, and I can get to it from the widget tab in the launcher. Are you using a custom rom? I am.
     
  9. Danske

    Danske Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18,355
    Location:
    Melgoon
    No just standard ROM.

    I found out why, because the widget is blocked due to Google music not being out in Australia (even though I'm using Google music everyday).

    Found an app that unlocks these restrictions, just need to Root it, which I am doing meow!

    Edit: sweet, got the widget :) and also enabled google magazines while I was at it, too bad it's useless coz it opens the Play store then just goes "uhh wutttttt" and just flicks back to the main page of Play :lol:.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  10. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,774
    Location:
    Melb
    Wow, on battery, 3d 5h, played games here and there, surfed, upload photos, used to make calls, not bad. At 28% now.
     
  11. Shimmy

    Shimmy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Melb, CBD.
    It's most noticeable when the back light is on the lowest setting.

    For anyone else just be weary when you use apps that keep a static image on the screen for a long time like the bed side alarm clock.
     
  12. oodles

    oodles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    861
    So Google now has worked out my patterns now, shows me my commute to work and weather at just the right times. Very nice.
     
  13. mmBax

    mmBax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,397
    I've only spent 2 hours at work in the past week apparently. I've saved my work location, but unfortunately my network location in this area puts me about 4km from where I actually am. Fails! Oh well :cool:

    Awesome to hear it works well for others. I haven't had any trouble with burn in either.
     
  14. Danske

    Danske Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18,355
    Location:
    Melgoon
    THREE DAYS!?

    Is this with Wifi and syncing on?!
     
  15. Daft_Munt

    Daft_Munt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,694
    Location:
    Hobart, The Federal Group
    Danske, I get over 3 days but have wifi, bluetooth, location and syncing off and the screen brightness down and I am still running 4.0.1 (Te$tra update please). I do kill off programs on a regular basis using task killer. I dont surf on it for more than an hour a day (with wifi) as I find the screen a little small/my eye sight isnt the best and dont want to make it worse. I guess I used my GN as a mobile phone more so than a smart phone.
     
  16. James086

    James086 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,144
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Stock 4.04. I run the Juice Defender app which switches things off when the screen is off.

    Click to view full size!
     
  17. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,774
    Location:
    Melb
    Wifi off, syncing on, screen is auto.

    What's the mode called when the Nexus is connected to the pc, it obviously doesn't have a drive letter, it just says Galaxy Nexus in Windows Explorer. I'm guessing this mode is the same for some Canon cameras where you have no drive letter just the name of the camera.
     
  18. mmBax

    mmBax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,397
    Holy smokes. It doesn't look like you use the phone at all.

    And I always thought that the phone automatically turned everything off when the screen was off. Hibernation type setup.

    I'm on 1 day, 2 hours. with 20% remaining.
    Screen is 40% of that. System idle is 20%
     
  19. Danske

    Danske Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18,355
    Location:
    Melgoon
    I always found Juice Defender annoying. It kept keeping my signal off when I needed it on.

    That is crazy dude... I can't get close to 2 days.
     
  20. Mikos

    Mikos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,964
    Location:
    Cydonia
    My phones started to develop a pretty large red tinted patch on the right hand side about half way up. It's about 2cm tall / 1cm wide at the moment and seems to be growing. Only developed in the last week or so, or at least haven't noticed it until then.

    Anyone ever heard of this issue? When the screen is white the patch is red, but with dark colours it's not very noticeable.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: