Google Nexus 5 Phone - 4.95'', 1080p, 4G/LTE, 4.4 KitKat, Black/White 16/32GB

Discussion in 'Google Android (OS & Devices)' started by Danske, Sep 4, 2013.

  1. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,661
    Location:
    western sydney
    Not on my Nexus 5, but I did in my Nexus 7 2012.
     
  2. scottath

    scottath Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,575
    Location:
    Sydney
    Got it on my N5 - stability seems to have suffered a little i tihnk, but i had a handful of apps update at the same time, so may not be the OSs fault.
    Found myself rebooting every 3-400hrs on 5.0, keeping the same sort of thing with 5.1
     
  3. Kow

    Kow Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    4,788
    Location:
    Redlands, Bris QLD
    Yes. It's faster, but still have the same lag issues if i have 2-3 apps open.
     
  4. Imitation

    Imitation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,857
    Flashed OTA myself a few days ago. My personal experience was 'holy shit this is fast!'.. but after a few days it settled a bit. It's faster but as above it still has lag here and there. I've only had what I'd describe as a memory leak once so far and would say it's pretty much solved for me. I do have 70 tabs in Chrome right now (omg wtf!) as well as listening to music and browsing reddit and whatever and it seems fine.
     
  5. Carey

    Carey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Seems a common problem. I had it myself. Called google up and after a few tests (that I'd already done), they sent me a replacement and then arranged a courier to collect the faulty device.
     
  6. minushuman

    minushuman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,426
    Location:
    Millers Point, NSW
    How long ago did you purchase? Mine started doing this last week. I bought at launch though.
     
  7. Carey

    Carey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I claimed it just under 1 yr (september last year?). Bought the day of launch too. So yours will be out of warranty but it should be a known fault so they might replace it for you. Can't hurt to try!

    I should also mention no ROM/kernel/factory image/unroot/root fixed the problem.
     
  8. rhythm

    rhythm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Sydney
    I purchased mine on launch and was told i have 2 years warranty. I've replaced it about 3 times so far because of issues.
     
  9. Imitation

    Imitation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,857
    Really? I might see what I can do then.

    In the mean time I have installed WTN - Wakeup Touch Nexus ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.wolandsoft.wtn ).

    I am using the proximity sensor to screen on and then a button on screen to lock. I was going to double tap to wake but I'm running the wrong kernel and just cbf at the moment. Effort. Also didn't know how much more battery it would use. Works great as is.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Danske

    Danske Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18,355
    Location:
    Melgoon
    Just sideloaded 5.1. Seems a little bit smoother.

    Have activated "On-body" detection smart lock, which is cool.

    Apparently the changelog says they reintroduced "silent" mode, which is a lie. they haven't lol. It's not int he power button menu or drop down or sound menu.

    Details here: http://www.xda-developers.com/android-5-1-details-whats-changed/
     
  11. GTR27

    GTR27 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,109
    Location:
    Sydney
    I can't use 4g because if I have it on, I don't receive calls, they go straight to message bank :( battery life seems weird now compared to earlier android revision and sometimes the unlock button stops responding. Everything except the 4g issue is random though.
     
  12. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Melbourne - 3174
    RMA replacement on the way, as I've had a wonky camera motor for months now. It wouldn't focus when launching and I had to shake it hard to get it to kick in.

    Question is. Anything worth wild buying instead, and selling on the replacement?

    I'm thinking the Z3c or maybe the full Z3, but I'm not 100% sold on the usb cable placement location.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Danske

    Danske Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    18,355
    Location:
    Melgoon
    All current phones are pretty meh to me, I like the Z3c but it kinda looks like an iphone copy? How bloated is Sony's android btw, is it close to stock as possible?

    I'm pretty glad a few of my issues with 5.0 have been resolved with 5.1 so far. My phone feels super fast again, pretty sure I can wait it out til November this year to see what the next Nexus will be like.

    If its big and expensive like the N6, then shit I dunno what I'll do :lol:.
     
  14. 2SHY

    2SHY Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,544
    Location:
    Sydney NSW Australia
    You can use the magentic dock for charging and to use as alarm clock at night. I do it with my Z2 Tablet and looks pretty awesome.
     
  15. Rusty X5

    Rusty X5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,112
    Location:
    A Very Cold Place
    Finally got the update...phone alot faster now, so all well and good atm. Will have to wait a few days to see if it has improved battery life or not
     
  16. mmBax

    mmBax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,061
    Yeah I got it today as well, haven't really noticed anything major yet.

    I pulled out the cheapo battery I got off ebay as I was getting random shutdowns that required a charger to get the phone to reboot. That'll teach me to never buy a cheap battery ever again.
     
  17. aL4n

    aL4n Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    714
    Ive got the msg to update to 5.1, can it be updated via OTA if rooted? As it gets an error message when trying to update.
     
  18. MyDixiesNormous

    MyDixiesNormous Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,419
    Location:
    Melb
    I had the exact same issue with my "genuine" battery as well. I even made them send me a replacement and that one was worse than the first. Once a day as opposed to every 3 to 4 days.

    How the hell do you buy a real battery? I just don't trust anyone. It seems the only way is to go to a lg service center and get reamed.
     
  19. mmBax

    mmBax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,061
    Option B for me was to order the dearest battery I could find on ebay, instead of the cheapest. I've given up though and I think I just need to put cash aside for another phone.

    Stupidly I opened a dispute about the battery, was going to return it and get my cash back, but I closed it thinking it'll be fine, as the battery was lasting longer, it just had the random shut downs. I thought I could deal with it, I was wrong, and because I'd already shut the dispute I'm stuck 19 bucks down with a crap battery.

    I'm probably wrong, but if it's a google image and not something else, and the bootloader is locked. You will get OTA. If it's unlocked it won't install. Again, I'm probably wrong.
     
  20. dinkleton

    dinkleton Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    South Australia
    Hey guys, what's the deal with the Nexus 6? I've been overseas for 6 months so haven't kept up to date with phones back home. Will need a new one as I smashed my Nexus 5 when I was in Brazil.

    Is the Nexus 6 no good or something? Not available in Australia? Not worth looking at? Because it seems you guys are all still talking about the Nexus 5 :confused:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: