GoPro Hero 3+ (New Version Released!)

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by DaCrusader, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. OP
    OP
    DaCrusader

    DaCrusader Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Cheapchips did this too, pretty filthy.
     
  2. jamesski

    jamesski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Trying to decide bewteen the Gopro Motorsport for $290 or the GP3 Silver + Suction Cap mount for $417.

    GP3 would be ideal as i can its in-built Wi-Fi to line up my shots with iPhone, but dont know if i can justify the extra $127 just to be able to get my Shot right.

    Want to be able to put on Drift cars etc.
     
  3. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,488
    Location:
    Canberra
    imho the ability to start/stop recording from the remote is worth the extra coin twice over.
     
  4. evade

    evade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find a cheap wifi kit online for 90 bucks...
     
  5. AngMoh

    AngMoh (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,042
    Does the 3 make a sound when you turn on/off the camera yet?
     
  6. petal666

    petal666 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,634
    Location:
    Red Hill, QLD
    The 2 does.
     
  7. enzo_450

    enzo_450 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,561
    Ours arrived Monday. Haven't seen it yet but might have a go tonight.

    Will be on the prowl for a head-strap mount this week.

    Missus is distraught that it doesn't come standard with an LCD screen..
     
  8. hlokk

    hlokk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,938
    Location:
    WA
    I assume the silver?

    Anyone know when the black is out? One place in aus said early 2013.
     
  9. enzo_450

    enzo_450 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,561
    Black. :thumbup:
     
  10. hlokk

    hlokk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,938
    Location:
    WA
    Local or OS. Care to share where?

    Not quite sure where to pick one up that have them in stock. Then from the US, you either cant order or have to use ebay/paypal :sick:
     
  11. enzo_450

    enzo_450 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,561
    Yeh I was a bit surprised, she did ebay/paypal afaik. Sorry I can't help out much more...she kind of sorted it out before I had a chance to think about it.
     
  12. Mudhoney

    Mudhoney Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    How'd you manage that? Is it a preview model or something?
     
  13. lithos

    lithos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6,410
    Exmor-R + Carl Zeiss...I'll take the Sony on principle...
     
  14. jamesski

    jamesski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Picked up a Silver and a Suction Cap Mount for $399 from JB.

    Not overly impressed. im waiting for app update on the 12th so can live view on iPhone. but may sell if im not impressed. as might spend money on a camera slider and Fluid head tripod
     
  15. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,719
    Location:
    Melbourne
    why cant you live view? isnt it the same as the HERO2?
     
  16. powella

    powella Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Sw update required to recognise the 3...
     
  17. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,719
    Location:
    Melbourne
    sigh...same crap as what happened with the HERO2, theyll drag out the software update for a while i bet.
     
  18. jamesski

    jamesski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Brisbane
    "App compatibility with the HERO3 will be available for White and Silver Editions on November 12, 2012, and for Black Edition in WINTER 2012. A software update for your HERO3 camera will then be required before using the GoPro app. Click here to update your HERO3 product software."

    :(
     
  19. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,719
    Location:
    Melbourne
    time will tell, we were left hanging for like 5 months with the original app for the WIFI bacpacs
     
  20. F3L1X

    F3L1X Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    brisbane, Queensland
    So it seems there's not an awful lot of useful difference between the hero 2 and the hero 3 silver edition?

    I might aswell just pick up a hero 2 and save myself $150?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: