1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

GPO Power Meter

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by ben_qld, Jul 10, 2007.

  1. Mr Snrub

    Mr Snrub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I'm a little sceptical of it's accuracy. Hooked it up to my PC (e4300, 965p-DS3, 2 x HDD, 7900GS). Playing Flight Simulator X (which is fairly taxing on CPU and Video), and the whole lot was only drawing 135 watts. With both CPUs at full ball in TAT i manage to squeeze 150w. Hooked it up to my clothes iron and it drew 2250 watts which seems about right. So I am really confused. Anyone offer any insight?
     
  2. Odje

    Odje Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,300
    Location:
    Sydney
    Sounds reasonable. Computers don't use as much power as people think.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2007
  3. Gecko

    Gecko Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,715
    Location:
    Sydney
    When I used to do a lot of lanning, we allocated everyone 1 amp, or 240 watts for their computer + monitor, and with that rule of thumb I don't think we ever had issues.
     
  4. TMM

    TMM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,481
    Congrats, you have learned that all the "you need alteast a 500w PSU" bullshit, is well, bullshit. You need a very, very high end end rig to even just pull over 300W :D
     
  5. Mr Snrub

    Mr Snrub Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia


    Well I know that a 500w PSU will not draw 500w on its own. I have an Antec NeoHE 430w, and was expecting at least 200w draw based on my components etc.
     
  6. Iceman

    Iceman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,647
    Location:
    Brisbane (nth), Australia
    Yes but you need a very high end power supply to cleanly and consistently deliver even half of it's rated capacity for extended periods ;)
     
  7. NewKleer

    NewKleer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    and deliver it on the needed rails. to use all that 500W up u need to be using the power in the ratio the psu delivers it...but that often differs from what you need - 12v vs 5v vs 3.3v
     
  8. z2177199

    z2177199 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    Sydney
    as shown in ocau news page, dans data did a review on it.
     
  9. TMM

    TMM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,481
    And you base this on...?

    I think you will find most decent brands* will easily deliver at least two-thirds their rated capacity 24/7 for a long time indeed. There are a few exceptions of models that have high failure rates though (the Antec NeoHE, made by Seasonic for example.)

    *Seasonic (inc. Corsair and the Seasonic produced Antec models), FSP (if you go by the true rating rather then 'max'), Silverstone, PCP&C, Zippy to name a few.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2007
  10. nux

    nux Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    16,780
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The bigger problem as stated is having enough current on the rails that you need.
     
  11. kingmoron

    kingmoron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    rather interesting picked one up today, dont know if this is the right place to post but...
    3.8ghz q6600, 4gb ram, 8800gtx 675/1050, 150raptor, max load was 340w
    e6300@2.4ghz w/8 x 750gb + 2x 500gb , max load was 320w
     
  12. NewKleer

    NewKleer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    yeah post results here...what about load vs idle?
     
  13. kingmoron

    kingmoron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    gaming pc was about 280watts, didnt check other pc, but only went up a few watts with the array going full access
     
  14. OP
    OP
    ben_qld

    ben_qld Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    Brisbane
    E4300 @ 2.8Ghz, 2GB DDR, 2 x 320gb 7200rpm, 7900GT, 22" LCD was drawing around 95W @ Idle, and around 110w when playing a game.

    Ben
     
  15. StratosFear

    StratosFear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,155
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    amd 4200 X2 939 @ stock, 1gb ram, x800XT PE, 3 HDD's, drawing ~120 at idle.
     
  16. Sillen

    Sillen Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    Melbourne 3130
    Mine arrived today. Idling at ~200W, peaking at 290W with Orthos and Artifact Scan in ATiTool running at the same time. This with:

    E6850 @ 3.5GHz (7x500)1.375v
    P5K Deluxe
    2x1GB Ballistix @ 2.2
    8800GTS
    2x74GB Raptor
    1x200GB WD Caviar SE
    Pioneer DVR-108
    X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
    4x80mm Fans through fan controller
    1x120mm Scythe for HS

    Should mention, my UPS is plugged into this so includes Samsung 940B though it only draws 10-15W.

    www.silentpcreview.com/article28-page4.html for some other measurements.
     
  17. StratosFear

    StratosFear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,155
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I wouldn't be so sure about that. According to my meter my Samsung 740B draws around 12-15watts when it's in standby.
     
  18. Odje

    Odje Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,300
    Location:
    Sydney
    Maybe it was in standby?
     
  19. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,655
    Location:
    Dark City
    WOW... This thing working right?

    My 80 cm tv, DVD player, VCR, 4x120w sony amp all turned on thumping and glowing away only uses ~55w?!!!

    Yet a 60w globe uses 58w?! So that small globe left on is using more power than all my media entertainment stuff on full blast!?

    My PC uses around 100w on, around 27w off (printer, speakers, crt etc)!! Im switching the power point off from now on!

    My fridge with compressor running uses 700w, but my small airconditioner uses 300w with the compressor going and only 80w with the fan!!!

    Several things used almost no power, mobile charger etc.

    My iron and a hair drier used 1200 w which means they will work fine with my 1500w inverter.

    Wow.

    Basically things use less power than I thought.

    I think I can fit my entire life into a 1500w max draw. With about 1600 W/hr total power daily.
     
  20. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,882
    Hooked mine up to PC and it uses 240w idle and 380w in a fps game. I think I might turn the pc off during the day while at work :D

    My TV only used 85w max.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: