1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

GPU Won't post in x16 slot (Code 97) but works fine in x8?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by sammy_b0i, Aug 19, 2021.

  1. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Bought a GPU from here recently and it's having a weird issue.

    I thought it was DOA as I would get stuck on code 97 when trying to post, but moving it down to the x8 slot (electrically) works just fine?

    Have cleaned the PCIe fingers with isopropyl, updated to the latest BIOS for the card... but still won't post in the x16 slot.

    The bandwidth makes no difference, maybe 1-2 percent at most, being PCIe 3.0, but just wondering if anyone else can think of anything that could be causing it?

    For note, the x16 slot works fine with other cards.
     
  2. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Location:
    Melbourne
    is it a modern card? I know there is some compatibility issues with older old cards and some Zen components.

    EDIT: kelvin posted in the AMD section, older cards like GTX780 will only post if slot is set to gen1, apparently not supported by AMD in Gen3 mode, something like that.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    EVGA GTX 980Ti Hybrid.
     
  4. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Location:
    Melbourne
    that in the 2700 and X370 combo?

    should be no issues tbh... thats odd. have a look in your bios, and see gen settings for the PCI-e slot x16, strange but a bios reset and or upgrade i assume you have already done.

    the one thing i will say, since you had an error code 97 when posting, but any chance are you using one screen only on DP?

    Zen will always try and boot via HDMI first unless the setting in bios is changed.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes, in the 2700/X370 PC. 1070 works fine in that same slot, so wouldn't assume any settings. BIOS has been factory reset and nothing changed in the slots.

    I get code 97 whether the power is connected to the card or not. If no PCIe power, still code 97.

    I should actually check what code appears with no GPU in at all.

    I get nothing from the card, HDMI, or DP. Hangs on code 97, no bios screen.
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  6. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Location:
    Melbourne
    which bios version? just working out whether support for GTX9xx was removed in a later bios. as GTX7xx was removed for some zen boards.

    interesting.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    ACT 2913
  8. OP
    OP
    sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    It's an odd problem. You'd think if they made it so it wasn't supported, it wouldn't work fine in a x8 electrical slot.

    For whatever reason maybe the pins that correspond to the extra x8 lanes are damaged?
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  9. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Location:
    Melbourne
    not sure if thats a thing tbh,

    can you set the main slot in your system to x8? and see if it works then ?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Changed a setting that changed the x16 to x8/x8.. but now I think about it, is that bifurcation or something?

    Either way, that resulted in a code 62 and no post in top slot.

    Bottom slot still happily running it.
     
  11. pwlm1975

    pwlm1975 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    Loganholme, QLD
    Any other PCI/PCIe cards in the rig?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,551
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    No, none.
     
    pwlm1975 likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: