1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

graphics card blow out!!

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Antec713, Mar 10, 2017.

  1. Antec713

    Antec713 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    New South Wales
    im not sure if this is the right place to post this but this morning i turned my pc on and my radeon 6970 blew 2 capacitors two loud pops and smoke i only just now took it out and put a geforce gt 640 in it i had laying around but i cant get a display would the pci-e slot be shorted out ? any help would be great!
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    162,087
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Any visible damage to the slot?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Antec713

    Antec713 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    New South Wales
    not that i can see. i put another card in and the fans spin up but no display
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    162,087
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Tried on board graphics?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Antec713

    Antec713 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    New South Wales
    yes onboard works i think maybe the pci-e slot shorted out
     
  6. WJR

    WJR (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Barrelaide
    When my GTX 980Ti went up in a cloud of smoke, flame and destruction it also took my mobo out but mine wouldn't POST at all so maybe yours took out the PCI-E slot. :(
     
  7. danyell

    danyell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,880
    Location:
    Kilsyth, 3137
    Thank Christ someone else responded to this thread it was all Antec until then and that would have been weird if it continued

    Antec I'd suggest clearing the CMOS with the jumper just in case. Maybe try another full.size.pcie slot if your board has one
     
  8. congoh

    congoh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,498
    Location:
    Melbourne, not too far from Monash Uni.
    Also check your bios/UEFI setting to see whether it's set to boot from pci-e slot.
     
  9. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,947
    Location:
    Melbourne
    got someone hidden? :Pirate:

    do you have a second 16x slot (or open ended slots) that you can try the spare card in?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: