GTA 5 ONLINE PC - Buying from USA - Questions

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Do It Yourself, Aug 4, 2021.

  1. Do It Yourself

    Do It Yourself New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Hi all,

    Just got a few questions I like to ask:


    1) I do not have unlimited internet data so I cannot download the game online from Steam since it is like 90GB. If I get a hard copy of the game does this mean I won’t need to download the game, everything will be on the hard copy disk to install? Planning to play GTA5 Online.

    2) If I buy a hard copy of GTA 5 but is from USA version. Will it still be okay and the same as buying from the shops here? Everything will still work as normal?

    3) Can you link the hard copy of the game with Steam aswell?


    Thanks
     
  2. d1ng0d4n

    d1ng0d4n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,393
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    You will still need to download it. "Hard copy" is often just a code in a box these days, and that off-the-shelf version will most likely go through Rockstars launcher.
     
    pwlm1975 likes this.
  3. pwlm1975

    pwlm1975 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Loganholme, QLD
    Most installation disks now are only to install the launcher. Considering that BD maximum capacity is about half of the size of the game, you will definitely be downloading a very large amount of data in either case.
     
  4. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,451
    Location:
    Perth
    1. You will still need to download the game. The retail version of the game will be so far out of date (if it doesn't just point you to a launcher in the first place), online will require it to be patched to the latest version.

    2. PC games aren't usually region locked.

    3. No. Rockstar have their own launcher. If you want it on steam you need to purchase the steam version.
     
    pwlm1975 likes this.
  5. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10,086
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Thats not quite accurate. You can still add non steam games to steam so that you can play it from steam. Then as long as you have auton sign in on rockstar it will load just like it was bought through steam.

    Whereabouts are you? Maybe someone from here or one of your friends or family could lend you their net or even download the files for you.
     
  6. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,451
    Location:
    Perth
    Yeah I am very aware of the non steam game feature in steam, but it's not the same as activating it on steam which is what I took the OP to mean by linking the game to his steam account. No achievements, trading cards, stored licence to install the game again later, etc. It's pretty much a glorified shortcut that enables the steam overlay and shows the game in your online status.
     
  7. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10,086
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Fair enough. I dont care about that stuff but yes OP might.
     
  8. alch

    alch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Perth
    USB External HDD.. Library or hijack wifi near a crApple store
     
  9. BistecConBigote

    BistecConBigote Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    You could use the sneaker-net if you have:
    • A friend nearby.
    • Who has decent broadband
    • Who owns the game.
    They can backup the files to a portable hard drive and you can restore them on your machine after buying the game (make sure its the same platform/version). The files should be recognised/verified by the Rockstar launcher to avoiding downloading them yourself.
     
    alch likes this.
  10. OP
    OP
    Do It Yourself

    Do It Yourself New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2021
    Messages:
    38
    Can I also ask what specs is able to play this game without any lag etc?

    Will both my computers specs be able to play it comfortably?

    1st computer specs:
    - i7 4790 @ 3.6ghz
    - 16GB DDR3 RAM
    - GTX 770 2GB

    2nd computer specs:
    - i7 4790 @ 3.6ghz
    - 8GB DDR3 RAM
    - NVIDIA 1050Ti (2GB I think)
     
  11. pwlm1975

    pwlm1975 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Loganholme, QLD

Share This Page

Advertisement: