1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

GTX 580 3GB Overkill?

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by greenpen, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,137
    Location:
    AvE
    It's two 1.5GB cards, so you only have 1.5GB of vram to use in a GTX 590.
     
  2. KiwInsane

    KiwInsane Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    tested my 2x 1.5gb 580's with BF3 2nite....@ 6000x1080, ultra, msaa off,....running 60-70fps fine....around 1.4-1.5gb vram

    untill put 4x msaa on....it chokes down to about 15fps...and gpu usage drops off from full usage

    obviously this is from the antialiasing being applied....

    6000x1080 is already a huge amount of rendering/pixels, and then to add antialiasing on top of that....eats v ram
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  3. KiwInsane

    KiwInsane Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    BF3 results from dude running a sr2 & 4x 3gb 580's: :tongue:....yes we have that kinda gear in NZ lol

    5760x1080 @ 4x ingame setting with 32x enhanced on in nvidia cp and full 8x transparency filter... Average 110fps, 1.8gb to 2gb vram usage


    now thats some sexy BF3
     
  4. demowhc

    demowhc Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeh I knew Tri or Quad 580's would make short work of BF3 even with enhanced filtering like 32xCSAA+8xtrMSAA in surround, if vram allows.

    Even at 1440p with 1.5Gb cards, once you add too much filtering fps plummit.
     
  5. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17,455
    Yeah, obviously the GPU is the limiting factor, so we need to keep adding GPU's until we reach ridiculous levels of GPU power in order to make use of 3GB of vram....

    HANG ON!

    I've been saying the cards are GPU limited and not vram limited in most scenarios all along!:thumbup:

    Mind you, wouldn't mind seeing some quad 1.5GB 580's at the same resolution to see how they compare to the 3GB models.
     
  6. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    I agree.

    I'll be able to end this discussion once and for all I hope as I plan on swapping out my 1.5gb 480s for 3gb 580 Lightning XEs :)

    I'll run the 480s overclocked and the 580s at stock, to hopefully approximate the same card, just with memory amounts being the only difference.

    I've hit a wall with my 480s and more volts is only possible with a hard mod, which I'm not very keen on doing due to warranty reasons.

    I'd like to play Crysis 2 with the texture pack, so 3gb cards will be nice for that :)
     
  7. maxrig

    maxrig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    618
    True... Here's a review on the gtx 580 1.5gb getting choked.. 5040x1050 with 2X MSAA @ 47.2 fps >>>> 4X MSAA at 5040x1050 @ 18.7fps... Now, if this is not v-ram bottleneck than i don't know what is....:D

    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/11/08/asus_rog_mars_ii_gtx_580_quad_sli_video_card_review/3
     
  8. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17,455
    Yer, with the exception that the 2GB 6990 x 2 still wasn't achieving ideal framerates....

    So chances are you'd be dropping graphical settings until framerates were once again smooth and ideal.

    In dual GPU configuration, GPU power was the limiting factor:

     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  9. dalien

    dalien Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Some where in Aus
    Here is my bf3 results.
    palit 580 3gb
    Latest official nvidia drivers. (285.xx)
    Res 1920x
    All settings max

    Fps no msaa average 77fps, avg mem 1350mb
    Fps 4x msaa average 42fps, avg mem 1490mb(never went over)
     
  10. maxrig

    maxrig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    618
    I'm pretty sure with some o/c of the gtx 580 than +50 fps is quite achievable even at 4xmsaa... At the end of the day having 2x 3gb gtx 580 is better than 2x 1.5gb...
     
  11. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17,455
    Yeah...I'm not really sure about that....
     
  12. maxrig

    maxrig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    618
    Your not sure or you don't want to accept the truth... ;)
     
  13. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17,455
    I'm sorry, I have no idea what you're on about?!

    Are we talking about dual GPU, quad GPU, highest playable settings or ridiculous settings that totally max out the video cards?!

    If you're talking about dual GPU, then in my experience I can't think of an example where I gained 10+ fps at surround resolutions and made a game go from unplayable to playable by overclocking the GPU's alone - So would you get a gain that would magically make the game a little more playable? I have no idea....
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  14. maxrig

    maxrig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    618
    I don't have surround resolutions but 10fps is quite achievable with sli set-ups in a single monitor... Is there any differences between monitor set-ups? I thought it goes by percentages i.e if your rig is capable of 25% increases from stock clock than your fps is capable of the same amount of increases.. Mind you every games is different, some games you gain nothing but some you do gain more from o/c..
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  15. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,137
    Location:
    AvE
    Yes because you own 3GB and 1.5GB cards and have ran a handfull of tests confirming your theory.
     
  16. demowhc

    demowhc Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Location:
    Melbourne
    We have been saying it all along aswell, and that in SLI, Tri and Quad, you need more vRAM to go with your now doubled, tripled or quadrupled GPU power if you want to run extreme resolutions and settings without choking, as is evident by KiwInsanes results, my results and Hives results.

    I am limited to 1440/1600p or less with 1.5Gb and Tri in many games, even though I have the horsepower to eat any game on the market at max settings for breakfast in surround.
     
  17. Audionut

    Audionut Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,060
    Location:
    4610
    I got myself a 3GB 580 yesterday. I ran a heap of results against the 1.5GB model I had.

    Most people on this board probably won't agree but I've posted my results here anyway.

    Make of it what you will.
     
  18. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17,455
    Nice, I like ;)

    I see no evidence that single and dual GPU setups are limited by vram, being able to make a poorly coded game go from a stagnant screen to a slideshow isn't ideal, in the same sense, it's no good being able to run 4x MSAA (as an example) on 3GB cards at less than ideal framerates as you will most likely drop to 2x MSAA (for example) which the 1.5Gb cards handle just fine (for example) - The claim that 3GB vram begins to become a benefit when running tri or quad SLI simply highlights a GPU bottleneck as opposed to a vram bottleneck.

    You want to run too much AA/AF/HBAO, it's that simple.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  19. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,137
    Location:
    AvE
    That's a single card, have you read anything of this thread?
     
  20. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17,455
    'single card', I have no idea what you are talking about. I was talking in general and I have no idea why you assumed that I haven't been reading the thread.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: