Gulftown Testing Begins

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by bob(nz), Mar 4, 2010.

  1. bob(nz)

    bob(nz) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    RADelaide
    Have had the opportunity to spend just a couple of hours testing my new i7 980X Gulftown CPU, and if this is representative of what they can do there is going to be a global shortage :thumb:

    Rig consists of a classified E759, core i7 980X @ 1.6V, and my trusty kayl cascade @ -106.

    Havent optimised any runs, just pretty much aimed for max CPU speed in each benchmark to see what it could do. All cores and HT enabled :cool:

    As you will see, other than vantage all benchmarks at 5400+ CPU speed :woot:

    I am sure that with LN2 and maybe just a few more mV we should be able to achieve much greater things :D Will keep you posted ;)


    WPRIME 32

    Able to bench at 5660 with breaking a sweat
    http://imagestore.ugbox.net/image/4_e44643644a9f608537cd217aa2555f.jpg


    WPRIME 1024

    Benching at 5400+ and definitely giving the cascade a workout :sweatdrop
    http://imagestore.ugbox.net/image/134_91317a2b5d7d5abc06cd26a1b626.jpg


    3DMark 03

    http://imagestore.ugbox.net/image/954503dm03_5ccac4924c93990a566f4.jpg



    3DMark 05

    http://imagestore.ugbox.net/image/422793dm05_eea5ee78a15fd85ebbc9d.jpg



    3DMark 06

    http://imagestore.ugbox.net/image/309503dm06_ef5f8d560ef9662c06a79.jpg



    Vantage

    http://imagestore.ugbox.net/image/22766Vanta_6957c64d364cc6d43fd.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2010
  2. Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    Great results Bob. The cpu score in 06 and vantage is unreal.
    How do you think it will go on air or water?
     
  3. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    We need some air cooling results. We already have phase results from TnB. Pretty useless to 99.9% of people, but thanks for sharing bob.
     
  4. fatguy1992

    fatguy1992 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,149
    Great work :thumbup:

    Air cooling is boring :lol:
     
  5. booj

    booj Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Great start Bob! :D:D
     
  6. gmeup

    gmeup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Sydney
    I would agree there would be a global shortage on these chips if they were around the $500 mark but it wont happen with a $1500 chip it wont go mainstream from what i have sean these chip make little difference to gaming also over 4 cores.

    Also Ln2 results here topped out at 5600ish http://www.guru3d.com/news/hexacore-ln2-overclock/
     
  7. n3wbi379

    n3wbi379 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,600
    Location:
    Melb
    Nice stuff ... 2.40ES .... shouldnt it be a 3.33 ????

    Tried more volts?
    I would hehehehhe
     
  8. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,007
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Good work :) but some aircooled results would be also nice. Not everybody is cascading and running his chip at 1.6 volt. :D
     
  9. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    count me as an air cooler.

    also, some cinebench 11.5 scores would be nice.
     
  10. booj

    booj Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I think his sig says it all :D
     
  11. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,007
    Location:
    Tokyo
    He clearly is an elitist! :D
     
  12. OP
    OP
    bob(nz)

    bob(nz) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    RADelaide
    Thanks guys - I cant take any of the credit - the CPU is doing all the work :lol:



    CPU is a Q3FE which were 2.4 out of the box. Clocking much better than the other ES batches from what I have read.

    Not keen on putting too many volts across this - some people have been using 1.85V to get CPUZ screenshots at 6G and above, but at the end of the day their 2d and 3d benching limits are about the same as mine and I aint frying a $1k plus CPU for that alone :wired:

    Have some more experimenting to do, but more volts dont always equal better results :)



    Haha - you bet me too it :thumbup: Thought that quote from Dino would come in handy at some point :lol:



    Heh not a chance Chainy. I just have limited time to play and have LN2 at home. The scarce time I have is about maxing out what I have - will leave it to the experts to write detailed reviews :D

    Just thought I would share my experiences in case anyone is interested :Pirate:
     
  13. Frenchlick

    Frenchlick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Perth
    Looking good Bob thanks for showing mate.
     
  14. kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth

    second that heheh
    i cant wait for the ln2 runs :thumbup:

    I bet the cascade was crying with the wprime 1024 run at 1.6vcore
    lets hope the cpu doesnt have a cold bug and you should see further improvements :thumbup:
     
  15. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    Go Team.AU goooooooooooooooooooooo :thumbup::thumbup::leet:
     
  16. OP
    OP
    bob(nz)

    bob(nz) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    RADelaide
    Well CPU went under LN2 today for an hour or so - and all I can say is OMG!!!:lol:

    Cold Boot Bug at around -140 and Cold Bugs around -175 :thumbup:

    Looks like you dont need to use 1.85V to get a 6G screenshot - this one was done with 1.61V :leet:

    980X @ 6G+

    Just a quick couple of runs with WPrime - lots of work to do on optimising yet if I need to :wired:

    WPrime32

    WPrime 1024

    Holly mother of #^%$ that is fast :eek:


    Will get somne 3d done tomorrow all going to plan :)
     
  17. rbdirty

    rbdirty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    Probably has something to do with the fact that you're running a quality motherboard made by EVGA.
    :thumbup:
     
  18. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    very nice mate very nice :thumbup:
     
  19. booj

    booj Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Total porn mate.. Excellent :thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:
     
  20. kayl

    kayl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,808
    Location:
    Perth
    well done mate, cant wait to see the 3dmark scores.
    soon as these become retail im getting one :thumbup:
     

Share This Page