HAF 932 Watercooled Project

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by azz, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. azz

    azz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,862
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Melbourne
    The Coolermaster HAF 932 inspired me to go back to water, so I bought one!

    The plan was to put my current rig (in a P180) into the HAF and watercool it.


    PC Specs:
    Q6600
    Gigabyte 965p-DS4
    Asus ATI 4850 (was 8800GTS but...it died)
    4gb Kingston HyperX 800mhz, 2gb Corsair 800mhz
    Seasonic 650w S12
    74gb Raptor
    36gb Raptor
    2x 320 Seagate SATA
    750gb Seagate SATA



    WATERCOOLING GEAR:
    Swiftech Apogee GTZ CPU block (1/2" barbs)
    D-tek Fuzion 2 GPU block (3/8" barbs)
    Swiftech MCP655 Pump
    3/8" Tubing
    2x 240mm Swiftech MCR220 Radiators (old version with 1/2" barbs glued on)
    Distilled water
    Nulon Red coolant



    FANS ETC
    Stock fans in HAF (3x 230mm, 1x 140mm)
    2x 120mm Scythe
    2x Jaycar Cold Cathodes

    I will lap the CPU, the 8c difference from core 4 and core 1 is rather annoying.
    Hopefully under load they will have only a few degrees difference.

    Everything looks like it will fit, so here are some pics!


    Some gear installed:
    [​IMG]


    Water:
    [​IMG]


    Ah! A fan controller!
    [​IMG]


    Fan controller installed, and a front panel will cover it.
    [​IMG]


    Had to dremel a X in the sides of the controller so I could screw it in:
    [​IMG]


    Test fitting the pump. I mounted it on the removable 5 1/4" to 3.5" tray, so removing it fro tubing etc is easy. Note my high tech thumb screw for adjusted pump speed with no screw driver!
    Front panel will cover this.
    [​IMG]


    Lapping the CPU. I used 360g, 600g, 800g.
    [​IMG]


    Good enough I felt. We'll see.
    [​IMG]

    Time to fit the top radiator:
    [​IMG]


    Then connect the pump:
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    I installed a T-line, and the fill port is here:
    [​IMG]


    Waterblock on 8800GTS and 2nd Radiator installed using velcro strips :)
    Top fan reinstalled.
    [​IMG]


    Close up of the CPU block:
    [​IMG]


    Closeup:
    [​IMG]


    All installed and filled up, just bleeding now:
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    I lost my 8800GTS, just didn't display anything once I booted.
    So I got a 4850 to replace it.

    System is NOT quiet, I need to optimize it a fair bit.
    CPU sits at 63c full load with linpack. (3.2ghz at 1.45v)
    GPU doesn't break 40c in 3dmark06.

    Decent temps I think, but that is with everything (fans, pump) on max speed.

    Next up I need to replace the PSU with a 1000w Corsair, the S12 just goes full tilt with CPU 100% load, and is damn loud. Then a P5Q to reach 450mhz hopefully and squeeze more out of the Q6600.

    I learned that I should of put a drain port between the radiator and GPU, and that I am dangerous around video cards :tongue:


    Screenshots and benchmarks to come. Any recommendations?

    Azz
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  2. OP
    OP
    azz

    azz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,862
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Melbourne
    reserved for benchmarks and screenshots
     
  3. Hooblah

    Hooblah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Rockhampton
    I like, Coolent Color is cool to.
     
  4. petfoodonly

    petfoodonly Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Location:
    Canberra
    Why do you want a drain-port between CPU and vid card?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    azz

    azz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,862
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Melbourne
    I said radiator and GPU ;)
     
  6. MomijiTMO

    MomijiTMO Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,003
    Location:
    Brisbane 4115
    Good job and there are no recommendations coming from my mouth =].
     
  7. xelaseer

    xelaseer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Sydney
    Recommendations:
    P5Q deluxe lol. Got one two months ago and haven't looked back since
     
  8. Damianb

    Damianb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,852
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What works better, The big fan at the top or the 2 120mm fans?

    I've got the same Case and i have my rad at the same place as your one on the top but i have 2 120mm fans and just have my fan sitting on my desk. lol
     
  9. OP
    OP
    azz

    azz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,862
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Melbourne
    Probably 2x 120mm, but at full speed they would be louder. I may try 2x120mm, but that will be a pain!

    Oh, for recommendations I meant benchmarks, I know P5Q will be much better even though I hate Asus.
     
  10. mrmas

    mrmas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Looks good. Was considering this case, is there enough room and space to mount a 360 and 240 rad without modding the case?
     
  11. Damianb

    Damianb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,852
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Internally you may JUST be able to mount a 360 rad near the HDD bays where azz has a 240.

    I'd test for you but i don't have a 360 rad. and measurements won't really show much.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    azz

    azz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,862
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Melbourne
    The top part can fit a 360mm rad.

    My 850w Zalman just arrived! Too bad I wont be home until tomorrow night to install it :upset:
     
  13. MomijiTMO

    MomijiTMO Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,003
    Location:
    Brisbane 4115
    It won't grow legs and run away :p
     
  14. OP
    OP
    azz

    azz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,862
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Melbourne
    True...but I'm impatient.

    Now to silence this thing down. The fans on the bottom rad give a 3c benefit at full speed over their slowest speed, under linpack, so I don't think I will bother running them from the fan controller, just a molex to 5v adapter I have.

    Zalman PSU is so damn quiet, but no idea why the 5v filter switch is not just integrated and left "on". I don't know why you would leave it off. Real test will be under full load (linpack and 2x rthdribl).

    Would you call 63c at 3.2ghz 1.4v(1.45 in BIOS) acceptable for a Q6600?
    GPU loads at under 40c.

    I need to find my temp gauge for ambient temps, but probably around 20-22c.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2008

Share This Page