Has M$ borked Skype?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Sledge, Sep 11, 2017.

  1. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,708
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Well all i've done is the same, but every time version 7.40.0.151 starts, it chucks up the box above that asks if i want to use the new version. Which i have to keep clicking 'not right now'
    [​IMG]
     
  2. metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,797
    Doesn't seem to be doing it here - I'm on v 7.40.104 and it tells me I have the latest version of skype installed - but I'm on Win7?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,708
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hrmm.. just went back to that version too...
    and i still get the same thing happening...
    But i did just find this:
    http://puu.sh/zmGX2/27a16fbef0.png
    But it's been happening for a while...... so i'm not sure how long 'eventually' is going to be..
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018
  4. Groff

    Groff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    NSW
    Had the dreaded upgrade happen to a friend too recently and they lost all their contacts.
    I nuked it and installed ver 7.?? from an old install and all good.

    Take note though...
    You need to disable auto update in the software AND in Windows Update settings (I.e. turn off auto update for recommended and other MS products.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,708
    Location:
    Adelaide
  6. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Big change for the redesign, especially for my parents that use it on a regular basis. But they were able to adjust.

    At least they are still making a normal installer for it and not pushing Windows Store only, which they did at one point.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,708
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I thought they already were?
    We can do LESS with it... so they're thinking it is MORE betterer ??
     
    metamorphosis likes this.
  8. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,708
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Well did a fresh install of windows today, and now it won't let me log into the old version of skype without updating it :(
     
  9. Groff

    Groff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    NSW
    I'm surprised it didn't kick you out of the old version earlier.
    About 6 months ago (I think) I was able to reinstall an old version from an install file I had saved (due to the new version losing people's contacts) but it finally forced an update to the latest version which works okay, but obviously without the features of earlier versions.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: