HDD prices

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Madengineer, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. HobartTas

    HobartTas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    766
    Same here, bought two of these 10TB drives for $301 total, Why? I have NFI but they were so cheap I couldn't let it pass but I'm sure I'll find a use for them when I get them.
     
  2. cyrax83

    cyrax83 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,056
    Location:
    hurstville, sydney
    Got 6 of the $129 AUD 10TB drives. Fingers crossed. Reports say they are shipping
     
  3. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Rocky
    Damn I would have been all over that. Listing at $401.71 now :(
     
    mikezilla2 likes this.
  4. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,542
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    So what do you have to do with them to use the hard drive in another enclosure? I don't like the ones that they ship in, I've had too many die. Prefer to put into a more study 3rd party USB3 enclosure... do I still need to do the tape mod for the rails?
     
  5. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Rocky
    Shucking instruction vid linked by DrFrag a page back.

    https://forums.overclockers.com.au/posts/18185328/
     
  6. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,500
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ended up cancelling mine and I got the 20tb duos since they have actual reds inside and warranty isn’t effected by shucking. Same price, bought 9 units (so 18 drives)

    By the time I claim them through the business it brings them down to 68 bucks a drive. Not bad at all
     
    terrastrife likes this.
  7. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,542
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Doesn't actually answer my question. I'd have no issues getting the case open, as I've done it before with other models. But people here are talking about taping off rails to make them compatible with desktop use, or to put in Synologies, and etc... is this actually a thing, and can I not just put it into a USB3 -> Sata enclosure without modifying it?
     
  8. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,500
    Location:
    Newcastle
    No. Needs the 3.3v mod done.
     
  9. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Rocky
    Sorry misread your comment. If you get the whitelabel drives instead of a red, you might need to mod it to get it to work.

    https://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Fix-the-33V-Pin-Issue-in-White-Label-Disks-/
     
  10. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,809
    Just used a molex to SATA adapter, that's the easiest way to do it if you're not OCD about cable neatness.
     
  11. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,981
    Location:
    Canberra
    Just don't use cheap crappy ones that catch fire.
     
  12. insular

    insular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Adelaide
    all 6 of mine shipped. now i'm regretting not ordering 9. will be added to the 4 from the previous deal (thought about returning those).

    now i need a new server to put them in!
     
  13. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,448
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    depin the 3.3v line on the PSU end of a modular cable. If not modular, just cut a 1cm chunk out of the lead and tape it up.
     
  14. millsy_c

    millsy_c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,655
    Location:
    Brisbane
    EvilGenius likes this.
  15. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    8,183
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I hope speed and silence isn't important to you. Did you check reviews of these drives? That said, that's a massive amount of storage for the price :thumbup:
     
  16. cyrax83

    cyrax83 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,056
    Location:
    hurstville, sydney
    Storage is paramount. Meh not that noisy, and speed doesn't matter as they'll mostly be written infrequently but read alot for movies and stuff.

    What concerns me more is reliability lol. But 3 year warranty and running one of them is parity would do. If I manage to get 6 (at this point, i'll probably get 0 and have my order cancelled lol) I may sell one or two to fund the others a bit.

    I'd probably leave them in the case to maintain warranty (I assume shucking it voids warranty) so I doubt I could get that many USB 3.0 ports anyway...
     
  17. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,448
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    30 day Amazon warranty, WD don't do international. People shuck because you basically don't have a warranty outside of DOA to begin with.
     
  18. cyrax83

    cyrax83 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,056
    Location:
    hurstville, sydney
    It says 3 years warranty on the page and Amazon sell the item to Australia on amazon.com.au. If it's not supported by WD, then Amazon would have to honour the warranty I presume.
     
  19. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,448
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    It's sold by Amazon US via AU (GST evasion lol), it's still the US store, a US product, and US Amazon warranty (which is stated as 30 days). Amazon make it clear as day that international warranty will vary by product and is out of their hands.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2019
  20. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,809
    Its OK there's a chance its a pricing error. Someone above said they're shipping, my card hasn't been charged yet so fingers crossed.
    Should have bought 2 or 3 LOL
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: