HDD prices

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Madengineer, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,141
    Location:
    4109
    in regards to your question, why so much cheaper ....
    SMR is the answer
    only the end user can answer is SMR for them ...
     
  2. brocky2006

    brocky2006 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    in short, for plex or media storage is SMR suitable, to be avoided?
    essentially looking for better $$/TB but also dont want a drive thats going to die in 2-3 years
     
  3. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,141
    Location:
    4109
    If write speed isnt a priority then SMR are fine as a single disk
    raid in many guises doesnt like green drives or SMR drives however.
     
  4. brocky2006

    brocky2006 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    i was thinking to have 3x in a storage space as currently its single disks and was to avoid the risk of a failed drive
     
  5. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,436
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    You can fix slow disks in storage spaces by putting some SSDs infront of the disks as write cache and as tiered storage.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  6. brocky2006

    brocky2006 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    N40l only has 4x sata, 1 is for the OS drive and other 3 were for 3x6tb(cause of the cost/tb but if the larger ones get cheaper before the upgrade ill go those) storage space was the plan, currently its 3x 3tb single disks
     
  7. brocky2006

    brocky2006 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    263
  8. DenDen711

    DenDen711 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Canberra
    Don't forget you can do a BIOS update & use the optical sata for the OS drive & there is even an internal USB depending on the OS.
    Cheers,
    Dennis
     
  9. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,141
    Location:
    4109
  10. bcann

    bcann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,963
    Location:
    NSW
    Keeps on showing won't ship to my location in australia, do we have to reship these?

    Nevermind refreshed and all good
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  11. onggie

    onggie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    The 10tb WD Elements drives came up for sale last night for $260 + delivery or free Prime. So I snapped two, they sold out really quick, price per GB compared to the 14tb wasn't as great, but I don't currently need that amount of space.
     
  12. brocky2006

    brocky2006 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    bios? update?
    my quick google kept ending up needing bios files from HP....which i cant get cause either 404 or need to pay for support
     
  13. DenDen711

    DenDen711 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Canberra
    Try the 1st page of the HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! posting, it has a listing of useful resources. https://forums.overclockers.com.au/threads/hp-proliant-microserver-owners-club-attempting-to-sell-here-will-result-in-bans.958208/

    You might find a link to an old bios file that allows the 5th sata connection to run at full speed (used prior to HP bring in paid support model - & probably after).

    Hope this helps.
    Cheers,
    Dennis
     
  14. bcann

    bcann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,963
    Location:
    NSW
  15. thedirkdiggler

    thedirkdiggler Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    393
    I know this might sound a bit dumb.
    But how can these prices be that low. When places like pccasegear are 200 odd extra. Do you bus these and strip the hard drive out then put in computer?
     
  16. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yes. And there is a name for this exact process. Its called shucking.

    I just shucked 2 16TB Seagate's this morning.
     
    thedirkdiggler likes this.
  17. bcann

    bcann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,963
    Location:
    NSW
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2020
  18. onggie

    onggie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Received my 10TB WD Elements yesterday which took two weeks to arrive, can confirm they are still WD100EMAZ.

    Currently running HD Sentimental on them before shucking, 1/4 way through after 12hours.
     
  19. thedirkdiggler

    thedirkdiggler Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    393
    need a few too
     
  20. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Their prices have come down greatly in last few weeks on Amazon US and UK.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: