HDTune Benchmarks

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Shinanigans, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. Dekd

    Dekd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    mELbourne
    can't remember exact settings:
    but 2x seagate 160gb sata 1 drives in RAID 0
    burst: 163mb/s

    highly unstable, but was mighty fast
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Shinanigans

    Shinanigans Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,833
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Updated to Gibbons post. Flat out at work. They're kinda thrown up there now in the OP, but i'll shuffle them around into STR order once i get a chance :) Keep em comin folks :D
     
  3. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,766
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    shove it in an offline database, thanxoutput copy/paste into thepost :p
     
  4. one4spl

    one4spl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Jamboree Hts, Brisbane
    Obviously raid-controller CPU bound, given that my 5805 got much better performance from almost identically performing drives (Samsung 640s).

    My 6x RAID5 graph linked above is bound by the throughput of the SAS expander though, i got more throughput, and a decent curve, with 6 x WD6400AAKS drives directly attached.

    I didnt post the images here though cos I used HDtach.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  5. NewKleer

    NewKleer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    2 x WD2500KS - 2 x 250GB = 500GB RAID0 - XP SP3 - GA-P35-DS3

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  6. pace282

    pace282 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    171
  7. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,627
    One of my Samsung drives on the same system as my last bench. Non raid again.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. oh_noes

    oh_noes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Australia
    Anyone have benchies of the new Samsung 1TB Echo Green?

    Thanks
     
  9. Boxman

    Boxman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Victoria
    [​IMG]
    Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS - 80GB SATA2 Single drive - Vista SP1 x64 - Gigabyte P35-DS3P rev 1.1 (Intel ICH9R)

    [​IMG]
    Seagate 7200.10 ST3320620AS - 320GB SATA2 Single drive - Vista SP1 x64 - Gigabyte P35-DS3P rev 1.1 (Intel ICH9R)

    [​IMG]
    Seagate 7200.11 ST3500320AS - 500GB SATA2 Single drive - Vista SP1 x64 - Gigabyte P35-DS3P rev 1.1 (Intel ICH9R)

    We should make another one for flash based memory.
     
  10. kingmoron

    kingmoron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    [​IMG]

    :)

    ARECA 1280ML W/512MB DDR2

    Ch01 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch02 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch03 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch04 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch05 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch06 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch07 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch08 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0
    Ch09 Raid Set # 00 750.2GB WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0

    Driver Version 6.20.0.15
    Controller Name ARC-1280
    Firmware Version V1.43 2007-5-31
    BOOT ROM Version V1.43 2007-4-17

    WINDOWS XP X64 SP3

    RAID5
    not sure why it lists as 2.2tbs but yeah 5.5ish

    was using remote desktop thats why the cpu was abit higher too
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
  11. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,766
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
  12. kingborel

    kingborel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    LCCRAM disk... RAM disk perhaps?

    Nice speeds regardless :D
     
  13. DaRkSITh

    DaRkSITh Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    [​IMG]

    :Pirate:

    Areca 1261ML w/1GB DDR2 533

    Ch01 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS
    Ch02 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS
    Ch03 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS
    Ch04 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS
    Ch05 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS
    Ch06 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS
    Ch07 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS
    Ch08 Raid Set # 00 1000.2GB ST31000340AS

    Driver Version 6.20.0.15
    Driver Description ARECA (X86-64-STORPORT) SATA RAID Host Adapter (RAID6-ENGINE Inside)

    Controller Name ARC-1261
    Firmware Version V1.43 2007-5-31
    BOOT ROM Version V1.43 2007-4-17

    Intel Quad (Q6600) G0 @ 2.4ghz
    Windows Server 2008 Enterprise 64Bit

    RAID6, 6001.2GB Unformatted Capacity
    Also using Remote Desktop (added CPU overhead to benchmark)
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
  14. Plax

    Plax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Canberra
    2x SAMSUNG HD753LJ - 750GB SATA RAID 0 - Vista x64 SP1 - GA-M55SLI-S4 onboard RAID

    Min: 81.7MB/s, Max: 173MB/s, Avg: 136.9MB/s, 12.6ms, Burst : 142.7MB/s CPU Usage 10%
     
  15. hawks667

    hawks667 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    Kilsyth
    Here you go

    First up is the ever popular WDC WD6400AAKS 640GB

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Impressive performance for a single drive that costs like $92.....

    Next is a ST3500320AS 500GB

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Used as a back up drive...32meg cache, very happy with the performance these drives give.......

    And finally, a ST3320620AS 320G

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    When i first started using ST3320620AS 320G drives, i thought they were fast, but the newer drives lead them by a fair margin...

    System is a E8500 @ 4gig......4gig ram but as the OS is Vista 32bit, it only recognises 3.2....All drives are on the normal sata controllers, mobo is GA-EP45-DS3P..

    :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  16. neon_87

    neon_87 RIP

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    Melbourne
    8x (4x 00ZJB0/4x 00D6B0) - 1TB WD Green RAID 5
    Wndows Server 2003 R2 SP2 32 Bit
    Highpoint Rocketraid 2320, driver 1.8

    [​IMG]

    No idea why its slower than it should be - but meh...
     
  17. nap

    nap Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,066
    Can someone guess what drive+ setup this is??

    The only stats I like about this is the MS access time. I think its the LOWEST I've seen in this thread (not counting memory/ssd drives/ram disk) :D

    [​IMG]
     
  18. neon_87

    neon_87 RIP

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    Melbourne
     
  19. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,246
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    These bench are running of my Perc 5i a $300 controllers
    4x WD6400AAKS

    Raid0
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Raid 0 shorts stroke
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Raid 5
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  20. NewKleer

    NewKleer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Brisbane
    access time looks too low for that. probably 2-3 SAS 15k drives in raid
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: