1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Help configuring 2nd NIC (10gb sfp link to NAS)

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by McRutch, Aug 2, 2018.

  1. McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've setup a 10gb sfp+ link direct from my PC to NAS, and file transfers are great now.

    But it feels like my other network connection that I use for Internet, etc is now a fair bit slower to react.

    Like I open web browser and it'll spin for 10 seconds before opening the google homepage, etc.

    Just wondering if this is something to do with my dns or gateway settings, etc.

    Is my computer looking on the 10gb link for internet first before going back to my 1gb copper?

    Windows 8.1; Broadcomm BCM57711 10gb; Intel I218-V 1gb.
     
  2. shift

    shift Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Hillcrest, Logan
    What IP settings did you set on the new link?

    If it's just for accessing the NAS, you should have no gateway or DNS specified at all on that link.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Melbourne
    that might be the problem, I had the NAS' IP set as my gateway & dns on the 10gb link
     
  4. HSV_Enigma

    HSV_Enigma Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Adelaide
    That is the problem, remove the gateway from the 10g interface and set up a static route to the specific NAS IP via that interface
     
  5. OP
    OP
    McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Melbourne
  6. shift

    shift Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Hillcrest, Logan
    You shouldn't need a static route, it's a locally attached network.
     
  7. HSV_Enigma

    HSV_Enigma Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Perhaps give us details on the error instead of just 'it fails'

    Agreed, I got the impression it was on the same subnet as the other interface. Just access the file sharing by using the IP of the 10gb interface of the NAS instead of the hostname.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: