Help getting 3600Mhz RAM running at rated speed - Z490 platform

Discussion in 'Memory' started by ndr2h, Aug 16, 2020.

  1. ndr2h

    ndr2h Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi Guys,

    Just seeking some advice from those with the knowledge on how to get some memory running at it's rated speed of 3600Mhz. So far anything above 3000Mhz and the system fails to boot. Have selected both XMP Profiles and the system will also refuse to boot. Suspect I need to do some manual adjustments but would need a bit of help with that. Any suggestions?

    CPU: i7 10700KF
    Motherboard: ASUS ROG Z490-H
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro CMW16GX4M2K3600C16 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4
    Timings: Manually set 16-18-18-36



    upload_2020-8-16_9-45-32.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2020
  2. OP
    OP
    ndr2h

    ndr2h Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Solved my own problem, was doing everything right just needed the RAM in slots 2 & 4 instead of 1 & 3.....
     
    Shame41 and Bolter01 like this.
  3. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    sydney
    You should be able OC those a fair bit if they are Samsung B-die
     
  4. TerminalVeloCD

    TerminalVeloCD Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551
    Location:
    6170
    +1.

    4266-4400 with tight timings isn't out of the question with that bin.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ndr2h

    ndr2h Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks to all. These are now running @:

    4266Mhz
    1.380v
    18-19-19-36

    I'm not sure if that is successful? I haven't bothered to push further but seems pretty stable at that mix. All other factors are on auto.


    RAM OC.PNG
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2020
  6. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    sydney
    ndr2h likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    ndr2h

    ndr2h Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Melbourne
  8. hellaflush

    hellaflush Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Did you end up playing around with these? Were you able to get any good results?
     
  9. @sia@home

    @sia@home Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,504
    Update your bios to the newest one. Read the release notes for the newer bios's, 'improved DRAM compatibility'.

    Bios update got my F4-4000C19 Dual rank B die kits working at their rated speed. It looks like some of the sub timings were way too tight.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    ndr2h

    ndr2h Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks just curious - did you only read the OP?
     
  11. @sia@home

    @sia@home Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,504
    Yes sorry, didn't read you had the memory in non ideal positions. Anyhow I've tested 4000MHz dual rank B die kits (32gb) in Asus Z490-H and also Asus Z490-F and they both needed a bios update for XMP to work properly.
     
  12. MattBaneLM

    MattBaneLM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Just be aware of your dimm temps with b-die. some kits can get finiky not much overr 32 deg and I see you are there.
    oh and don't trust TB too much, especially the pcb rev
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: