Help me sort this storage system out

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Revenger, Jun 7, 2017.

  1. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17,037
    Location:
    Perth
    What do you mean? You can have separate disks if you want to. :confused:
     
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,645
    Location:
    4109
    as i said, i cant explain it too well ...
    I'm not referring to volumes or disk groups


    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!


    i cant just hit copy/move a 'root' folder (1st pic), but a second tier folder i can do whatever the hell i want.
    I think its more technically going to be a "share" which is represented as a folder, but isnt ???

    Here's a screenie of my shares in the control panel


    Click to view full size!


    do they actually exist as folders ? or are they just symbolic names ?

    anyway, it's not the end of the world, it was just (as i said) my way of doing things and in particular for manual backups. i like to drop my off line HDD into a caddie and hit "copy - skip to ..." and send a whole folder to the drive as quick incremental.
    and as you can see in the screens, i stuffed up when i dropped the 10TB in, i forgot to make a top tier share for each volume that i run.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2017
  3. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,533
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm a Synology user ( Used to run a Norco 4224 and have retired my HP Microserver ). Using the Synology in comparison to a roll your own is just seamless. I reduced my data profile ( who really needs backups of "linux ISO" when most stuff is on youtube or netflix? ). The important things are home pictures/videos ( memories for the kids ) and work documents. I went from 36TB down to 4TB.

    Things I actually really appreciate after I got the Synology is :

    DS Photo. It auto-backups your iPhone and Android photo's as soon as it connects to the wifi. So if you use your phone as a primary digicam alot, your photo's will always be safe... because who has time to do manual backups of their phone religiously? Also iCloud 5gb for photo backup is rubbish when most phones are 128gb...
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Mutman they exist as directories under the volume folder in the root /, so'/volume X/share name/ your folders' is the directory structure in SSH.

    WinSCP is what I used on Xpenology to look at things.

    As for folders you can change structure my making new folders or shares and rearranging the files, did that on Xpenology when I copied in the online demo files and testing a few things.

    Also found about the didn't raid basic shr or traditional etc.

    I'll check about shared folders once I'm home with moving to bit wouldn't be much of a issue with me as I'd use the shared folders as I would do on separate drives partitions.

    I am interested on USB drive support to ext4 etc so I can move files onto external drives directly.

    I'll let you guys know when I boot up Xpenology again about some things talked about here for questions etc.
     
  5. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,645
    Location:
    4109
    another mut tip - put the scratch drive in by itself as a single drive on first setup too. some DSM apps can only reside on the first drive/first volume.
    surveillance centre is a great example - even when set to only record motion detection to a another volume, it will always be recording to that first slot
    i didn't want my raid array (when i used one) spun up and writting continuously when it could be sitting idle not wasting power. the scratch drive being used by torrents meant it was pretty much running 24/7 so having surveillance running at the same time killing the same sacrificial torrent drive made sense for me.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2017
  6. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17,037
    Location:
    Perth
    Oh righto, thanks, I misunderstood what you were referring to.

    I call my shares after the disk (mine are all individual, not in raid). I know what's where that way.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    I didn't see that copy-to issue moving to a root folder just now in Xpenology DSM 5.2
    So I assume 6.1 should be much the same.

    Tested on USB and all seems ok.

    [​IMG]

    I'll update you guys with 6.1 findings once I get that tested.

    MUTMAN I know what you mean if you wanted to move a root folder somewhere.

    What I would do is either have those as subs or make a folder where you want usb etc and select all and move all that way.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2017
  8. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    So I got the NAS today.

    Chucked a couple drives in to test.

    I'll do a full log later.

    I know what Mutman was saying about the HDD's.

    Volume 1 uses more data than Volume 2 with Synology temp and other files.

    Surveillance station you can change recording storage path after install, so having a look at that stuff also.

    Thinking I don't like the idea of having Synology's stuff on a scrap drive as if anything happens to that I loose all the configs etc.

    So I may just make the first drive onwards my array and the scrap at the end.

    Currently have a second drive running through DBAN so I'll run all my drives through that as I add them to the array.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2017
  9. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,645
    Location:
    4109
    all of the synology setup and files is mirrored to every drive. just that some apps will only primarily reside on the first hdd
    like i was saying before, surveillance centre is a great example of how that works.
    set it up to record only movement to the second hdd, and have a timeout on the drives to spin down
    the first drive will never spin down...

    its not a show stopper, just something to be aware of if having drives spin down is a requirement.
    for my setup back then, i had a three drive raid 5 that wouldnt be touched for days, so why not spin them down
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Yea I can see things use the first partition etc.

    I am using the first few drives for my storage then last as scratch when I can.

    I'm populating it now and have 2 drives in and a 3rd dbanning to go in tomorow or so to copy data 1 drive at a time.

    I looked at docker and will probably roll my own nomachine desktop image with the apps I want etc.

    All the dockers for nomachine I find haven't been that good so I may as well roll my own with Jdownloder2 and DC++ etc on it with mapped storage to the nas.

    Was thinking a VM and may still go that path depending as I am going to get 16GB next week.

    I'll do a review thingy a bit later.

    Using a Xpenology VM to test stuff so I don't test on and clutter up the actual nas.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Review so far:

    So I got the Synology Nas about a week ago and it came very well packed in 2 boxes and with Synology's own packing tape.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    It had a few accessories the keys, quick start guide, power cable, 2 shielded lan cables and a package of screws for 2.55 inch drives.

    [​IMG]

    Setting it up was really easy and I was running in no time.

    Adding drives I added them as a single SHR volume of 2 drives to start with after they were both run through DBAN.

    I am currently up to 4 drives adding them one by one.
    You can hot add the drives then use the webpage to expand onto it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The method I use is to move the data from a drive onto the NAS.
    Run the drive through DBAN, this is a test of the drive as well as a data scrub.
    Add the drive into the NAS and let it expand onto the drive.
    Repeat for the next drive.

    Copying I do via the inbuilt USB ports.

    [​IMG]

    This system is working well and has taken about 3 days per drive.

    There are a bunch of native 3rd party packages you can get from SynoCommunity for the nas.

    [​IMG]

    For anything else there are plenty of Docker apps and you can easily roll your own Mate desktop with nomachine if needed.

    If you have multiple users or need multiple access you can do link aggregation which bonds the ports into one.

    Make sure you remember to enable all bonded ports for WOL if that's what you plan to use also as that won't work otherwise all ports are enabled for that.

    Using the website on mobile devices has a mobile version but you can switch back and forth to a full version or web version as needed.
    It also lists dedicated mobile apps at the bottom of the web version.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The DS File app lets you do fully remote side transfers and is my prefered way to move files from USB to the device.

    [​IMG]

    With Windows on networking files are usually cached locally then moved back to the device when you are moving
    them between external shares or cached on the pc when moving files between two systems.

    The webapp gets around that, but I do wish DS File was on Windows as a UWP app also then just mobile devices as I tend to want to do remote file management and will be moving downloads onto the NAS from my server etc.

    The Android DS Finder app lets you have remote notifications (as long as the app is running) and shows some basic info on the NAS as well lets you do WOL.

    [​IMG]

    Overall I am very happy with the NAS and will be playing around with extras such as Docker and VM's and using it for file sharing and downloads and will update you all how I go with that.

    If you need to do any extra remote work there's SSH file transfer and SSH command line.
    A package MC (Midnight Commander) is in the SynoCommunity repo if you want a file manager in SSH but you need to have Homes enabled to use it.

    [​IMG]

    If there is anything you want me to review with the NAS please let me know.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  12. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,645
    Location:
    4109
    great review revenger :thumbup:
    a couple of questions
    why dont you use shr2 if you have 8 bays ?
    are you using the btrfs format or sticking to ext4 ?
    and what happened to going cheap and spending the money on drives ?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Was more a overview than a review.

    Agg has a good Synology review on this site with graphs etc.

    With speed it's basically 115MB/s gigabit / HDD speed, haven't tested link aggregation throughout.

    So performance is standard and not worth mentioning unless you are bonding and having multiple users etc.

    As for HDD usage it's running at about 60% HDD so there is room for multiple users or bonded transfers.
    CPU and ram usage is low.

    So not much to review in that area as it's normal speeds but if I go to a Lan will definitely keep you posted.

    As well I'll update this thread once I look at docker etc and post that stuff.
    And streaming content to my consoles etc.

    As for SHR2, you can only do that if you have 4 drives minimum, I started with two.

    You can convert from SHR to SHR2 I'll show that option once I add in the next drive.

    I'm not going to do that until I reach the 6th drive and go SHR2 for drive 7.

    As for drives my plan is to use what I have 3TB then slowly migrate to 8TB drives when it's affordable to me.

    So far all I've spent is the cost of the Nas to give me a redundant system.
    Considering different costs, raid, cards cases etc, complexity with setup and potential issues, ease of use etc, this setup is what I ended up with being the best all round choice.

    And as for format I have chosen to go BTRFS which is a newer system that is self healing of there is any file corruption etc.

    I don't know too much BTRFS vs EXT4.

    Also when you add a USB drive NTFS etc you will get some Synology files added similar to what OSX would do with ._ and trashes etc.

    On another note it's about time ReFS became standard with Windows, I've had occasional NTFS issues and corruption that yea it's time to move on.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  14. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    I haven't converted to SHR2 yet as the Synology Raid Calculator says I won't get any usable storage when upgrading drives until at least 4 drives are upgraded.

    So plan is to stay with SHR1 and leave port 7 free and eventually upgrade to 4 newer drives first then run SHR2 from there.

    Why also leave port 7 free? Well to expand on SHR2 of course and still allow port 8 to be used as a scrap until I get a expansion bay and move the scrap, vm's etc onto that when I get to that stage.

    To upgrade to SHR2 you do it in the Storage Station when you manage the volume.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I enabled the home directory today for my personal files, resume, game keys, whatever really so they can be separate from my storage shares.

    At this stage I won't have all my data on the NAS untill I upgrade drives.

    My console stuff is about 5TB (on a new 8TB) and then the old raids to recover another is about 5TB, so overall I will need to get a few 8TB installed over the next few months or so to move that stuff to the NAS.

    But bit by bit I will populate the NAS with bigger drives and move the rest of my data over.

    I enabled the light dimming schedule at night and full brightness during the day.

    Everything I am doing can be done on Xpenology.

    The actual build of the device is really good and the laches for the drives are pretty good.

    Anything you want to know just ask.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    I got 16GB ram today tried a VM which was ok apart from being limited to 1280x1024 resolution in qemu as it uses a emulated cirrus logic videocard.

    So what did I decide to do then well I decided to roll my own NoMachine Docker Roll and a few hours later of trial and error ended up with this.

    I have rolled a initial dockerfile of dc++ with nomachine and the EiskaltDCPP client as it seems better than LinuxDC++.
    No dc++ clients exist in the containerland well publically anyway.

    So here is my initial version.
    Very buggy probably but working initially.

    If anyone wants to help with the dockerfile let me know and I can add you to my github as a contributor.

    Adding Files into a shared common folder using dcpp as a test will rename to something like 'Shared Files' then have a seperate 'Downloaded Files' folder.
    [​IMG]

    Hashing files uses all 16GB ram :eek:
    [​IMG]
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Nas still running fine learning about mount bind etc in the shell to do some server specific file sharing type stuff.

    I think with DC++ I will use a vm for it as the docker test I did has been buggy, so I installed Server 2016 on a vm and will put a dc++ windows client on there.

    Vm's have a virtual 10gb network card on them which is plenty for link aggregation which is only 4gb but limited to hdd speeds of 350MB/s or so though with a 10gb pci card installed thats what its designed to scale to.

    It'll take me a while before I get more data on there as I need more drives and cant afford them atm but its there to expand and upgrade etc.

    Anything you want to know let me know.
     

Share This Page