Help me streamline my home media server

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by Odourless, May 12, 2019.

1. Odourless

Odourless Member

Hi Team!

I'm by no means an expert when it comes to networking/IT in general and have bluffed my way to my current setup which seems to work OK but is starting to struggle with higher quality stuff. Basically I currently have this PC:

AMD Phenom II X3 720
    8GB Ram
    AMD Radeon 7800 series
    A few random HDD's totaling 8TB

A while back I set this PC up to auto-download everything I need via usenet (sabNZBD, Sonarr & Radarr) along with a Plex media server. This PC lives in my garage connected to my modem and I connect to it via TeamViewer when required.

I use the Plex client on whatever I can to watch the media (Xbox One, iPhone & Laptop via Chromecast).

I struggle to stream maybe 50% of stuff in a better than HD quality which is a pain as I often have to re-download media to be able to watch it.

I'm ready to completely replace the media server with a modern PC but am looking for advice on the best path to take as well as clients to watch the media. Will a SFF HTPC be able to handle the media server and playback at the same time?

2. Bradzac

Bradzac Member

My htpc runs on an old i5 4690 with 16gb ram. I've got 5 or 6 NVIDIA shields around the house and they stream 4k content fine. The only issue I have had was caused by having subtitles on. All clients run Plex, I also have a hdhomerun streaming free to air through Plex.

All my shields are hard wired on gigabit lan, though.

3. OhFoRkMe

OhFoRkMe Member

Sounds like the issue may not be server related but the speed of your network. If you connect your media players via Wi-Fi, I would be checking this first before spending anything on a new server. Would be a shame to spend money on a new server or upgrade only to find out it has the same issues as you currently experience.