1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

help me with my backup strategy?

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by archie, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,803
    Location:
    western sydney
    hi guys,

    I run a very small office from home.
    I have a file server (win xp software RAID 5 with 3x 1tb hdds) that I would like to backup.
    So I bought 2x 3.5" esata enclosures and stuck a 2tb drive in each (2 backups a week)

    The server is running win xp sp3 with AHCI, and it seems that it has trouble differentiating between the 2 drives everytime they are plugged in & my backups fail, "previous files not found" errors etc

    Any ideas?
    Any other method you guys recommend?
     
  2. issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
  3. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,803
    Location:
    western sydney
  4. Nyarghnia

    Nyarghnia (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,274
    Get a USB HDD and ShadowProtect Desktop Edition, set a retention policy and then forget about it.

    Done.

    -NyarghNia
     
  5. issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    unable to find the program to firmware flash it (update it) it uses a non standard flash chip/programmer

    a better card is the addtronics card.

    once you flash the update on it.. it supports(better) multi port boxes as well

    ie 1 card 5 units 1 external box..


    but for what you want - 2 e-sata cables to 2 hdd all good..

    note. e-sata support power saving+ on hdd..

    so xp/vista /win7 hdd power down option works..

    (iv set mine for 2 hours then power down hdd)
    (built in o/s)

    but usb3.0 does not.. they just keep on spining...

    http://www.addonics.com/products/host_controller/adsa3gpx1.asp
    this card is updatible(black one got old firmware 2006-i got 1 from deal extreme.

    p.s it support in raid non raid 2tb hdd.. iv got 2 tb plug in 1wd 2tb + 2tb samsunf eco 3

    the sil 3132 support hot swap+ plug n play, even if the rest of the system does not...
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2010
  6. mgiannelis

    mgiannelis (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9

    Yes just move to Windows 2008 server and use acronis
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: