Help Needed! Pc boot issues.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Angus M, Dec 16, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Angus M

    Angus M New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hi guys,
    My current PC, 1920x/Aorus Gaming 7 X399 build, crashed yesterday. This computer has had no issues in the past and this is my first major roadblock with it. Anyways, after it crashed, when I tried to boot it again the motherboard leds and the fans flicked on for a split second and then shut off but the leds on the ram and the gpu stayed on. When I tried again it did nothing and I had to switch off the power supply to try again. So far I have drained the loop and searched for any shorts or loose wires but haven't found anything. I've also tested the ram and gone through the manual with no success. The only other ideas I have are possible mobo, cpu or psu failure but i'm not sure which one has gone wrong. Any help would be much appreciated.
    Cheers
     
  2. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8,595
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Paperclip test the PSU to start with.

    The LEDs do they have codes (numbers)?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Angus M

    Angus M New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The Psu is good. I checked it on another system. Also, the mobo does have to led codes but the system shuts off before the codes start running through.
     
  4. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,150
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Cmos reset. Then see your ram sticker. Input the required volt for ram in bios or a tad more, boot.
     
  5. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    139,535
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Did you get it fixed? Looking like the motherboard then, going to have to try another, if possible.
     
  6. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,686
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    Gigashyte strikes again.

    First thing to try on threadripper setups is to reseat the CPU
     
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    139,535
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Strangely enough I've had heaps of Giga boards in the second rig, and even at times in the main rig, and never an issue :leet:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: