Help needed with wifi

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by XXX-XXX, Feb 9, 2019.

  1. XXX-XXX

    XXX-XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    sydney
    I just bought a new router (netgear 7000p) I set it up and everything was fine.Then I decided to change the network name on the 2,4ghz band and since then one computer running windows 10 with a usb wifi adapter can no longer detect the network anymore. I have tried uninstalling it from device manager. Though not sure what else to do when it was working fine before.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. bcann

    bcann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,679
    Location:
    NSW
    Are you sure that the usb wifi is dual band?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    XXX-XXX

    XXX-XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    sydney
    nah the usb is only on the 2.4 band though it should still detect that network right? It detected it the first time, it was only when I changed the network name that it failed to detect it anymore. Though all my other devices see it fine.
     
  4. bcann

    bcann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,679
    Location:
    NSW
    It should see the new network but you'll need to reconfig to connect to it
     
  5. OP
    OP
    XXX-XXX

    XXX-XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    sydney
    Ok.Do you mean reconfig the router or the usb stick?
    I am not sure what is happening. I have tried taking the usb to another pc and it finds the network fine. Then move it back the the first pc and nothing?
    I have tried a network reset in windows and still nothing?
     
  6. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,344
    Location:
    Melbourne
  7. OP
    OP
    XXX-XXX

    XXX-XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    sydney
    Hey. I tried that just now and still no luck. I set the SSID to what it was and it could not find that anymore? Anything else to try. It has to be a windows thing though right?
     
  8. dragonFLAME

    dragonFLAME Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    743
    Location:
    Somewhere Cool
    check country code - could be setting it to a band that your 2.4ghz device can't see.
     
  9. voltare1

    voltare1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    399
    Set the WiFi channel from auto (cause it likes to pick 0) to 3-6 or 9
     
    caspian likes this.
  10. OP
    OP
    XXX-XXX

    XXX-XXX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    sydney
    Ahh. That seemed to have fixed it. Thanks mate.I thought it must have been a windows problem cause I got it to work when running ubuntu off a flash drive though as soon as it went back to windows it stopped. Though all working now.Cheers
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: