Help putting a loop in

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by motas, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Na my cpu is a bit on the hot side. Actually not a bit I got it to 90 degrees on stock settings with stock cooler with a exhaust right next to it. got it to 100 i reckon with a h50 on 4ghz but i stopped it before it got there. Im gonna aim fo 4.5ghz. Yer I have seen mst guides just say unplug everything and you cant ruin anything if theres a leak.
    Thanks.
     
  2. h2oxide

    h2oxide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,748
    Location:
    Perth
    Dude i was clearly kidding about the 5GHz :lol:

    Anyway, yeah you could always just set it up in your case and jump the pump only, without powering on anything else
     
  3. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Sorry I'm half asleep cant even remember what clock speeds normal. Yer I think Ill just do that.
     
  4. fang_laluna

    fang_laluna Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    6Ghz :thumbup:
     
  5. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    1thz anyone?
     
  6. terroristone

    terroristone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,144
    Location:
    Melb 3030
    TBH i have never tested for leaks, i always use threebond 1110b on fittings and clamps on my hoses, so far over many years i havnt had a single drop of water where it shouldnt be...
    Andrew
     
  7. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Got my resevoirs today. One to use one to mod. And then mod the other and use both lol. The guy at the local computer shop knows how to watercool so he's gonna help me. Should be done Friday.
    Thanks.
     
  8. retrobot

    retrobot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Every WC build needs pics :)
     
  9. Wootwagon

    Wootwagon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Melbourne (boronia)
    i didnt leak test either, cause im impatient, but i bet i would have leaked from :upset: too if the loop decided to leak :tongue: youll be right mate, just check, check then check again, and if your using clamps, dont go too berserk on them, if compression fittings, go tight =]
     
  10. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Compressions all round except pump. I forgot to get a pump top but this is only a temporary loop anyway.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Got it working today. Will post pics tonight. Keeps my stock 920 under 60c (by a bit) with a 360mm rad with 2 oem fans and a delta.
     
  12. broox

    broox Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Location:
    Ad'laide SA
    PICS! c'mon maaaan.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Sorry I couldn't find the memory card and had to go camping. I am free tonight so I will hopefuly remember. It's a challenge to get the side on because of the tubing. I still need to work out an overclock that is stable. What should I aim for and what temps and voltages would you stop at?
    Thanks
     
  14. OP
    OP
    motas

    motas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Hey everyone. Just took some pics and found i had a kink iin my loop. Not good. Anyway I have put a hose clamp over the kink so hopefully will fix it. Are there any other ways to prevent kinks without taking the loop apart?

    Click to view full size!

    Havent done any cable management and cant really be bothered.
    Thanks.
     
  15. PaulysVision

    PaulysVision Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Newcastle,Australia
    +1 nicely put.. lol
     
  16. mugga

    mugga Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Parramatta
    Use some angle adaptors (45 degree) to get out from tight bends. But you will need to drain the water of course.
     
  17. mr_mordred2095

    mr_mordred2095 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,904
    Location:
    Brisbane
    LOL 60c. Should be nearly ambient.
     
  18. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,741
    Location:
    Newcastle
    This.

    Another method is to put paper towel around all the fittings to help detect leaks, will also stop anything going onto the equipment.
     
  19. WuzzA21

    WuzzA21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,371
    Sounds like you dont really give a shit if your computer fucks up because of a poorly researched watercooling loop. nice work champ.
    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=895731

    NEW THREAD
    OVERCLOCK MY COMPUTER FOR ME PLEASE

    "so do i increase the gigabytes for it to zoom zoom?"
     
  20. PaulysVision

    PaulysVision Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Newcastle,Australia
    :lol: ouch!!


    nice, i used to use tea towels ;)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: