1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Help required - need to replicate a circuit

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by vs355, Mar 25, 2020.

1. vs355

vs355 Member

I have a couple of circuits that I need to replicate (primarily 1). As an electrician, I have a limited electronics knowledge, other than identifing some components and assembling boards/circuits.

So - the primary circuit I want to replicate consists of a bunch of resistors, capacitors, a couple of transistors - and a 16F688-1 microcontroller (all SMD - as space is critical). The tough thing about this project, is that I cannot get the exact information as to what the circuit needs to output. As such - with that microcontroller - is it possible to read the code that has been written, and reverse engineer it from that.
    Just to appease any concerns about copying somebody else's work. The main issue is that the company that previously produced these - closed their doors 2 years ago. As such, these simply cannot be purchased - or the information found.
    Sorry for being a little vague on details, if anyone believes they can assist in this, please PM me, and I can provide some more info (and am willing to pay for help on the project).
    Thanks

2. Technics

Technics Member

Reversing and replicating the circuit is usually trivial at that level of complexity.