HELP:Suggestions for a HTPC graphics card

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by rzkman, Dec 7, 2007.

1. rzkman

rzkman Member

Hi all,
    Relative newbie here, so looking for some advice. I am putting together a HTPC to connect to my Panasonic 42PX70a 42" plasma which has 1024x768 native resolution. The screen has two HDMI ports and I am thinking this would be a good way to connect the HTPC to it.

1. I went to centrecom and told them to suggest a card where I can use the HDMI port into my plasma. They suggested the Gigabyte X2600XT 256Mb. It comes with a DVI to HDMI adapter. I actually had my eye on a 8600GTS as I liked the fanless design, but they said for HDMI support I should go with this one.

2. I later went to another store and asked the same question about which card they would suggest if I wanted an HDMI output. They suggested a Gainward 8600GT 512mb which comes with a HDMI port at the back. I noticed this card has a fanless design.

Should I return the X2600XT and get the 8600GT instead? Or maybe some other suggestions?

I guess I should have asked on the forums first before going shopping. Will teach me to rely on advice from a computer store...*sigh*..

Thanks,
    Ray

2. AussieTemplar

AussieTemplar Member

3. thunda

thunda Member

The X2600XT is better for HD stuff, takes more of a load off the CPU I believe. I would keep it.

I know default res is 1024x768 but running 1080i content thru the set at 1920x1080i looks better than default. I have the Pana 60A 42" and that won't allow 1024x768 at 50Hz either so I usually stick with 720p or 1080i.

4. Lasmi

Lasmi Member

2400,2600 + 2900xt all have the same hd capabilities. I've got a fanless 2400xt for $65 and it's got a lot of grunt for such a cheap card (but haven't used it for hd yet).

The 3 series have audio on as well though don't they so that might be your best option for a good quality htpc, depends on price of the entry levels (been released yet?)

5. Aequitas

Aequitas Member