High end air vs AIO in 2018

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by ayles, Mar 6, 2018.

1. ayles

ayles Member

Hi guys,

Haven't reviewed this for 2-3 years, have AIO caught up yet? Or better off staying with my ultra120 extreme? Googled but couldn't find a recent benchmark.

My old 2500k @ 5g hits 85c benching or 70c gaming, hot but stable. Might jump to a 8700k or next few cpu after a 1440p 144hz screen upgrade.

Had a custom loop with a 240 and d5 back in the day but with my PC based at the office these days, cbf going custom again.

2. Ratzz

Ratzz Member

Havng just had a look at a Frostytech review of your cooler, its a bee's dick ahead of the Coolermaster Hyper 212. The Hyper 212 Evo LED is a more recent cooler, and superior to the original Hyper 212 and your TT cooler as well, while also being quieter. I have some experience with the later version of the 212, and can compare it to various AIO's I've had on the same chip (7700K, I've not owned anything more recent from Intel since I moved to Ryzen).

I've run a delidded 7700K @ 5.3GHz on a H60 with no issues at all, check the delidding link in my sig if you want more info on that.

I'd place the humble Corsair H60 above the later model 212, which would make it superior to your cooler. I'm going to go with yes, pretty much any decent quality current AIO, particularly if you are willing to go for a 240, is going to be superior to your cooler. The H60, although only a slim 120, punches a little above its weight in its category, but there are better options. The H60 may only be marginally better in performance vs your air cooler, but will be significantly quieter.

The Coolermaster ML120L is a decent 120mm cooler @ ~$80, and comes with quite a decent pump and better than average fan. It also has lots of bling if that's your thing.