Higher Cabinet install in new house (garage)?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by SuperRoach, Oct 5, 2014.

  1. kesawi

    kesawi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,633
    Location:
    Brisbane
  2. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Yeah, For a proper server 450mm Depth isn't going to cut it.

    Here's a photo of the current house, which worked out ok keeping in mind it was a desktop NAS like your link mentioned. It's a 6RU 450MM (also from 4cabling) for the cabinet. The NAS is an old Infrant (netgear) ARM based one. The patch panel cabling was too long (50cm) for what is in there though. The glass panel door was not able to close because of it.

    [​IMG]

    I think the bare minimum I should try and get asap for when I get told the next stage of the house is going ahead, is the cabinet, Patch panel, bunch of small cables, a gigabit (probably unmanaged is plenty for me) switch should be a start.

    Got to leave the kit all here sadly but it's a good excuse to upgrade some of the parts when going to the new place.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014
  3. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    @Decryption, any update with how your install is going?

    Provisional Parts list to order soon:

    12RU 450mm Cabinet: http://www.4cabling.com.au/12ru-450mm-deep-wall-cabinet.html
    • Not hinged, so may be difficult to do the patch cabling.
    • Turns out I had a 9RU Cabinet in the picture above, bit of extra room here could allow for a shelf.
    • Should mount fine to the noggings.

    Patch Panel:
    http://www.4cabling.com.au/cat-6-24-port-patch-panel.html
    • 24 Ports is more than the 14 From the house

    Switch
    http://www.4cabling.com.au/24-port-unmanaged-gigabit-rackmount-switch.html
    • Gigabit
    • Unmanaged = easy setup
    • Price difference between 16-24 is small
    • This model from 4Cabling vs others seems overpriced

    Power Strip:
    http://www.4cabling.com.au/6-way-1ru-19-horizontal-power-rail.html
    • Spacing between points, For those darn powerbricks.

    NBN to Router:
    http://www.securifi.com/almondplus
    • Gigabit, Wireless AC
    • Already have this from Kickstarter, If it's suitable, bonus

    Any thoughts or input about the above?

    Misc:
    http://www.4cabling.com.au/cantilever-2ru-shelf-250mm-deep.html
    Possible Shelf to sit basic things (Raspberry Pi style stuff)

    NAS's I'm considering, but can buy latter on:
    HP Proliant (Gen8 or older version): Might generate too much heat. 245mm Deep.
    ReadyNAS 312 (2 Bay) (Atom CPU Based) - 220mm Deep
    ReadyNAS 314 (4 Bay) ("") - 223mm Deep
    ReadyNAS 316 (6 Bay) ("") - 288mm Deep
    ReadyNAS 516 (6 Bay) (Xeon, $1200+ diskless!) - 293mm Deep
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014
  4. AFireInside

    AFireInside Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Melbourne
  5. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Nice spot especially with the cabinet.

    I've gone ahead with the 4cabling one a few days ago, waiting for these parts to arrive so I am ready to go ahead with handing it off if they were ready to continue doing work.

    I also ended up getting a cheap UPS as well, with the plan to power a nas if it is in there, the switch and router.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Parts arrived! 4Cabling took the longest.
    [​IMG]

    Parts are from the top:
    • 6 Point Powerrail
    • 24 Port Patch Panel (4Cabling preloaded)
    • HP 1810 v2 24 Port Switch
    • 12 RU Rack.

    Not pictured: UPS, Two 2RU Cantileaver style shelving (I bought a second by accident... whoops), Bunch of 25cm Cat 6 Cable for Patch - Switch.

    I was worried at first that it was too wide - the switch was far too short! I took a photo to compare it to the older HP 1800.

    [​IMG]
    Turns out one of the big differences is the LED's are on the actual cable connections, and they are distributed in the middle. Probably better for cable organising. Oh, and the whole thing is less wide, with longer mounting brackets provided to compensate. Better not lose them!
     
  7. Pik0

    Pik0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Sorry what do you mean by this?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Not much: http://www.4cabling.com.au/cat-6-24-port-patch-panel.html#.VE4AaHtmzhU

    Just that the panel isn't bare, and comes loaded with the termination points, all 24 of them. The other ones on that site you had to buy them separately.

    Latest news is that I have 3 weeks still until they finish painting before they go back. Argh. It gives me plenty of time to sort out a NAS of some sort while I'm waiting.

    Above all I'm over the moon that it will have NBN I guess. This stuff is great to have to help make use of it.
     
  9. bubblegoose

    bubblegoose Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,508
    Location:
    Molesworth - Tasmania
    I think he was confused, because 99.9% of patch panels come with all 24 ports ready to terminate into. The only things that usually come unloaded are wall plates. :thumbup:
     
  10. Pik0

    Pik0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Yeah that's what I was confused about, in my head I had that as pre-terminated and that didn't make sense at all.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Still worried about dimensions, so while I'm waiting still I took a bunch of measurements. Might help others who need to plan what goes inside it.
    http://i.imgur.com/wdlACo9.jpg

    Brickwork is done now, so shouldn't be too long.

    In terms of server, I've gone for a lower power one instead of a build my own HP Style - Synology DS415+

    For the rear panel, It kind of looks tricky for mounting. There's some holes at the top section... but none at the bottom. With the rear panel dimensions I can figure out with some measuring next time where it should roughly be.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2014
  12. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Well, today is the day! I go do an inspection tonight.

    Here are the parts sitting there waiting to get mounted and put together.
    http://imgur.com/mnWWmrf
     
  13. McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Melbourne
    only patch panels that come without mechs are panduit..

    fuck i hate them
     
  14. OP
    OP
    SuperRoach

    SuperRoach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    381
  15. wattstar

    wattstar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Great job on the instal, 12ru wall mount does look small once installed, I have a 22ru server rack and it seems huge in comparison. But I am planning on getting something wall mount like you did.

    What's the room behind the cabinet for?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: