Hisense source selection keeps popping up

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Skydome, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,230
    Just last night the source section screen on the tv keeps popping up and disappearing.

    I didn't think much of it other than it been a sticky button but i was turning the tv off when i first noticed it so i figured i'd sort it today.

    I pushed the source button on the remote and it didn't feel stuck but the source window kept coming up. I decided to take the batteries out of the remote in case somehow the wiring for the source button is loose and keeps triggering when i dont push it but that didn't help.

    It is a much older telly with the model of HL81V68P which IIRC came out around 2007-2009-ish.

    Question is, is this a fixable problem or is the tv finally entering its final life stages?

    If I have to get a new one what is the general consensus on the kogan branded tvs? I don't want one of those smart tvs, just a modern dumb tv.

    I'd probably go LED or OLED if I could find a reasonable priced one. I'd look at spending around 500 dollars on it but i don't need a mega fancy tv, long as it's larger than 32 inch and is either full HD or 4k with 2 or more HDMI connections and a connection for the VAST set top box and i'm all good.
     
  2. guy.incogneto

    guy.incogneto Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Can you factory reset it? Or upgrade the firmware as a moon shot.

    You can buy replacement main boards online if it's worth it. Or donor parts from someone's broken tv, might be a while to wait for that specific model to come up.

    LCD TV's are stupid cheap these days. There's plenty in th $500 range within the specs you want.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,230
    I'll certainly give factory resetting ago.

    I've got the tv running now and it doesn't appear to be doing it now :confused:

    When/If it does it again i'll factory reset it.
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    137,114
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Did you change anything that may have caused it to stop?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,230
    Not that I can tell, did what I would normally do and it just automatically stopped.
     

Share This Page