Hopefully a quick and easy question

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Madchimp, May 7, 2020.

  1. Madchimp

    Madchimp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478
    Hey guys,

    Feeling a tad n00bish, but...

    Currently have NBN into wifi router to everything in the house. I also have a spare wifi router.

    Can I use the two routers to connect via wifi and have the second router wired into everything in the 'office'?

    The problem I am facing is phone line comes in at one end of the house and the office is at the other. Everything is connected via wifi, but it's a weak signal.
    I tried using EoP, but the two sets I have tried both seemed flaky (every now and then had to unplug them to reset them as they stopped working).
     
  2. CQGLHyperion

    CQGLHyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,697
    Location:
    North Rockhampton
    Depends on the router firmware to see if it can act as a wifi client. Router models would help.
     
  3. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,498
    Location:
    Melbourne
    as per above it's potentially possible under a couple of methods, but you're still going to be reliant on a wifi signal from one router to the other, even if you then have a cabled network in the office. do both routers have detachable antennae that could be upgraded?

    if not -

    (a) run a cable from the gateway router to the office then do a wifi or wired network there
    (b) have the entry point for the line into the house relocated to somewhere more midpoint
    (c) look at a mesh system
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Madchimp

    Madchimp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478
    Billion 8900AX-2400 with phone line, etc into it and a TP link TP-WR1043ND in the office

    - Not an option
    - Also not an option
    - Tell me more?
     
  5. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    65,275
    Location:
    brisbane
  6. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,415
    Location:
    Highbury, SA
  7. CQGLHyperion

    CQGLHyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,697
    Location:
    North Rockhampton
    The TP Link can act as a wireless bridge. I'm not sure how suitable it will be for how you want to use it. Read the manual for more detail:
     
  8. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,498
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I would not wish WDS bridging with dissimilar hardware upon my worst enemy. every vendor seems to use their own implementation of the "standard". having spent a lot of time and experienced a lot of frustration trying myself, I wouldn't even make the attempt without same-vendor gear, and if that means buying something then I'd just buy a mesh system and avoid it altogether. I'm increasingly a proponent of integrated solutions that just work than trying to hack things together.

    I bought a Ring video doorbell the other week and the internal ringer unit acts as a wifi extender, there are a lot of ways something more reliable than WDS can be implemented.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2020
    mooboyj, Pugs and firey4059 like this.
  9. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,556
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    I have literally nothing to add except that my experience mirrors the above - WDS is finicky even between a pair of identical routers, and might as well be impossible between dissimilar units unless they can both run the same open firmware (DD-WRT etc). Buy something that's intended for doing "mesh" / "wireless backhaul" / "wireless uplink" and save yourself the pain.
     
    Pugs and caspian like this.
  10. OP
    OP
    Madchimp

    Madchimp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478
    Cheers everyone for your advice :)
     
  11. CQGLHyperion

    CQGLHyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,697
    Location:
    North Rockhampton
    Or just give it a go and see if it works and save some money?

    Then if it doesn't work spend money?
     
  12. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,814
    Location:
    Melbourne
    WDS? My experience 100% reflects all the experiences shared in this thread. Seriously not worth your time
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: